Canby, Marshall wrestlers grapple in Milbank

The Canby Lancer wrestling team crossed the border to Milbank, S.D., on Saturday and returned with four impressive wins in four duals.

The Lancers beat Marshall 51-20 after defeating host Milbank 52-14. Canby also defeated Sisseton (S.D.) 45-27 and dominated Warner/Northwestern (Iowa) 66-9.

Marshall went 1-3 in Milbank. The Tigers’ win came against Sisseton, where a pin by heavyweight Austin Nath gave his team a 42-39 victory. Marshall also lost to Milbank, 45-24, and Sioux Falls Washington, 55-22.

“The Sisseton win was a big one,” Marshall head coach Justin Bouwman said. “Both of us gave up some forfeits because of injuries, but we got some big wins. Nath overmatched his kid at the end and really wrestled well all day.”

Six Canby grapplers went undefeated over the day’s competition, with Hayden Goplen leading the way with pin falls in each of his four wins at 170 and 160 pounds. Adam Evenson and Quentin Beiningen also went 4-0 with three pins and a forfeit victory each. Cole Regnier reached 4-0 with a pair of pins and two forfeits. Brock Nothem was 3-0 for Canby on Saturday, while Levi Citrowske won by forfeit in his only match of the event.

Nath finished the day 3-0 for the Tigers, with all of his wins coming via pins. One of those was against a sixth-ranked wrestler from Sioux Falls Washington.

Matt Facile and Campbell Hofstetter each went 3-1 on the day for Marshall.

Marshall is in Adrian Tuesday for a triangular against Adrian and Fulda/Murray County Central.

The Lancers are back on the mat on Tuesday as they travel to Olivia for a non-conference triangular with BOLD and Paynesville.

Team Results

Canby 51, Marshall 20

Canby 52, Milbank 14

Canby 45, Sisseton 27

Canby 66, Warner/Northwestern 9

Milbank 45, Marshall 24

Sioux Falls Washington 55, Marshall 22

Marshall 42, Sisseton 39

Canby Individual Records

Wyatt Johansen, 3-1

Konnor King, 1-3

Nick Antony, 1-2

Jack Citrowske, 3-1

Quentin Beiningen, 4-0

Brock Nothem, 3-0

Brett Jelen, 0-1

Levi Citrowske

Nick Stoks, 2-2

Austin Campbell, 3-1

Hayden Goplen, 4-0

Bryce Gorder, 1-2

Christian Full, 3-1

Cole Regnier, 4-0

Adam Evenson, 4-0

Gavin Benz, 1-2

Marshall Individual Records

Toby Semler, 0-4

Kesmond Willert, 3-1

Nick Erbes, 2-2

Matt Facile, 3-1

Brent Breczinski, 2-2

Riley Roth, 1-3

Jarrett Louwagie, 1-3

Garrett Maxwell, 2-2

Cambpell Hofstetter, 3-1

Brandon Appel, 1-3

Mohamed Abdirzak, 0-3

Austin Nath, 3-0 (3 pins)

Jake Holbrook, 1-0

Wyatt Martin, 0-1