Notice of Applications

January 17, 2013





Notice is hereby given that First Independent Bank, 300 Front Street, Russell, Lyon County, Minnesota 56169 has made application to the Minnesota Department of Commerce for consent to acquire through merger The Buffalo Ridge Bank, 110 Main Street, Beardsley, Big Stone County, Minnesota 56211, and to establish detached facilities at: 101 Main Street, Beardsley, Big Stone County, Minnesota 56211 (DF 1237); and 339 Aetna Street, Ruthton, Pipestone County, Minnesota 56170 (DF 1238). It is contemplated that business locations of the merged banks will continue to be operated. The applications were made pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Sections 49.33 to 49.41, and 47.51 to 47.57. The above applications were filed with the Minnesota Department of Commerce on January 9, 2013. This notice is being published in the Marshall Independent, Marshall, MN on January 17, 2013 and in the Northern Star, Clinton, MN on January 17, 2013.

Any person, bank, or other financial institution has a right to file written communication in favor of or against the applications described above. Written comments will become a part of the public record on the applications and should be addressed to: William K. Horlitz, Deputy Commissioner; Minnesota Department of Commerce; Division of Financial Institutions; 85 7th Place East, Suite 500; St. Paul, Minnesota 55101.

Written comments to the Minnesota Department of Commerce must be received within fifteen (15) calendar days after the publication date in Beardsley and Ruthton pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 47.54. An administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14, may be ordered at the discretion of the Commissioner to hear testimony and to take evidence in favor of or against the applications. In addition, the nonconfidential sections of the applications are available for review at the Minnesota Department of Commerce in St. Paul. For an appointment for public review or for information on copies and related charges, please telephone (651) 297-4867 during normal business hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

First Independent Bank

300 Front Street

Russell, Minnesota 56169

Lyon County

Minnesota Bank Charter 406