Campus notes for Feb. 6

UW-La Crosse announces fall 2012 dean’s list

Jordan Rignell of Currie was named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the fall semester of the 2012-13 academic year, ending December 2012.

Qualification for the dean’s list is limited to students who have attained outstanding academic achievement. To be eligible, students must have earned not less than a 3.5 semester grade point average and have carried a minimum of 12 semester credits.

Bushard, Johnson granddaughter earns scholarship to Mount Mary

Hayley Hove, the daughter of Mark and Amy Hove of Minneapolis, and granddaughter of Dave Bushard and Omar and the late Barbara Johnson of Marshall, has been awarded a scholarship by Mount Mary College for the 2013-2014 school year.

Hove, a 2013 graduate of Hopkins High School, will be a freshman at Mount Mary this fall studying merchandise management.

CSS announces dean’s list

Hayley Moede and Kristina Van Moer, both of Marshall, have been named to the fall 2012 dean’s list at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth.

Dean’s list members have achieved a 3.75 grade point average or above on a 4.0 scale.

West graduates from South Central College

Kyle West of Walnut Grove graduated with a degree in agribusiness production from South Central College. Fall graduates will be invited to participate in South Central College’s official commencement activities in May.

NSU releases fall 2012 dean’s list

Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D., has released the dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester.

Students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average for the semester are eligible for the dean’s list.

Full-time students 3.50-3.99:

Balaton, Shane Erickson; Ghent, Walker Hennen; Tracy, Alexis Beierman.

Full-time students 4.00:

Wabasso, Morgan McKittrick.

Local students named to MSU Moorhead dean’s list

The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement for the 2012 fall semester. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Boyd: Peter Lonnquist, composition; Darren Schluter, mathematics education.

Canby: Casie Baer, athletic training, exercise science; Jessica Balvin, elementary inclusive education; Logan Thompson, biology.

Dawson: Cynthia Kvaal, speech/language/hearing science; Megan Stratmoen, elementary inclusive education.

Ghent: Jacob Moe, computer science.

Granite Falls: Jennifer DeBlieck, speech/language/hearing science; Lauren Trudel, biology.

Hendricks: Monica Nelson, business administration.

Lynd: Kayla Revel, elementary inclusive education.

Marshall: Katy Mitlyng, music education; Shawn Tykwinski, finance; Stacey Tykwinski, elementary inclusive education; Anna Schiavo, communication arts and literature education; Holly Winther, communication arts and literature education.

Porter: Benjamin Syltie, graphic communications; Lana Syltie, English/mass communications.

Ruthton: Katie Madsen, speech/language/hearing science.

Wood Lake: Keely Huso, film studies.

MSU, Mankato announces dean’s list

The academic high honor and honor lists (dean’s lists) for the past fall semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced by interim Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs Linda Baer.

Among the 3,090 students listed, a total of 725 students qualified for the high honor list by achieving a 4.0 straight “A” average, while 2,365 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the honor list.

To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for a grade.

Balaton: Kelsey Hoek, honor list; Danielle Sherman, honor list. Cottonwood: Joseph Bakker, honor list. Chelsey Gniffke, honor list. Dawson: Krista Helgeson, honor list. Granite Falls: Joseph Douglass, honor list; Courtney Hinz, high honor list. Hendricks: Bryon Wilson, high honor list. Marshall: Darryl Coudron, honor list; Josh Flygare, honor list; Rachel Johnston, honor list; Jessica Kimpling, honor list; Sean Netzke, honor list; Kelsey Przymus, honor list; Carly Salfer, high honor list; Bryanna Schnaible, high honor list; Andrew Schreiner, honor list; Ashley Schultze, honor list; Skyler Stensrud, high honor list; Lauren Wilgenbusch, high honor list. Milroy: Anna Snyder, honor list. Minneota: Alex Christensen, honor list. Taunton: Brandon Grengs, honor list. Tracy: Megan Gilmore, honor list; Emily Sanow, honor list. Tyler: Chelsea Conrad, high honor list.

ISU students named to fall semester dean’s list

More than 6,669 Iowa State University undergraduates have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the 2012 fall semester dean’s list. Students named to the dean’s list must have earned a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work.

Boyd, Lindsey Bendix, genetics (AGLS); Granite Falls, Kristie Syring, apparel merchandising, design and production.

Gustavus Adolphus announces 2012 fall semester dean’s list

The fall semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list is comprised of students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average or higher for the semester ending in December 2012.

The following local students were named to the dean’s list: Marshall, Megan Holmberg; Angelica MacDonald.

Area students named to fall semester honors list at South Central

In recognition of their academic excellence, Nancy Genelin, vice president of academic affairs for South Central College, has released the fall semester president’s list honorees. To be eligible, a student must be in good academic standing, and for fall semester have earned a minimum of 12 credits and achieved a grade point average of 3.500 or better.

Boyd: Brianna Schmitt.

Walnut Grove: Jonathon Carter, Kristie Hoffman, Kyle West, Katie Xiong.

Lynne named to dean’s list at William Woods University

Megan Lynne of Clarkfield has been named to the dean’s list at William Woods University for academic accomplishments during the 2012 fall term.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be full time and have achieved a minimum 3.6 semester and cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Evans named to EKU dean’s list

Billie Jo Evans of Lynd was named to the dean’s list at Eastern Kentucky University for the fall 2012 semester.

To achieve dean’s list honors at Eastern, students attempting 14 or more credit hours must earn a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0. Students attempting 13 credit hours must earn a 3.65 GPA, and students attempting 12 credit hours must earn a 3.75 GPA.