Section 3A wrestling results

Wabasso/RRC 75, Ortonville 3

The Wabasso/Red Rock Central Bobcats remained unbeaten on the season and advanced to the Section 3A semifinals after a 75-3 drubbing of Ortonville in Wabasso on Thursday.

Jordan Roggenbuck’s 6-1 decision over Brady Bierl at 182 was the lone match victory for Ortonville in the dual.

The Bobcats won the first 10 bouts and just one of their 13 match wins resulted in less than six team points. Mitchell Schroepfer took a 5-3 decision over Isaac Cloos at 160 to give Wabasso/RRC a 51-0 lead.

Just three of the Bobcats’ 10 pin falls occurred after the first period, with Jordan Schroepfer winning by fall at 195 after just 17 seconds.

The Bobcats are back on the mat Saturday in Benson with the semifinal duals scheduled to begin at 1 p.m.

Wabasso/RRC 75, Ortonville 3

106-Mitchell Fulton (W/R) pinned Ben Eustice, 3:25

113-Justin Frank (W/R) pinned Tristan Eastman, 0:26

120-Spencer Jenniges (W/R) pinned Jordan Kurrasch, 1:58

126-Josh Altermatt (W/R) pinned Nick Steltz, 1:47

132-Derek Christians (W/R) pinned Mike Roach, 3:12

138-TJ Fulton (W/R) won by forfeit

145-Dominick Ourada (W/R) pinned Cody Bedore, 3:32

152-Tanner Rohlik (W/R) pinned Robert Wood, 0:53

160-Mitchell Schroepfer (W/R) dec. Isaac Cloos, 5-3

170-Blake Altermatt (W/R) pinned Travis Westlund

182-Jorden Roggenbuck (O) dec. Brady Bierl, 6-1

195-Jordan Schroepfer (W/R) pinned Dylan Arndt, 0:17

220-Brian Hagberg (W/R) pinned Hayden Knip, 1:17

Hwt-Alex Schroepfer (W/R) won by forfeit

Pipestone 29, Canby 26

With its season on the line, the Pipestone wrestling team came up with two crucial wins in the final two matches to defeat Canby 29-26 Thursday in the quarterfinals of the Section 3A team wrestling tournament.

The fifth-seeded Arrows got a 3-2 tiebreak decision at 220 pounds as Jared Nygaard defeated Canby’s Adam Evenson to pull his team within three points. Then in the heavyweight match, Pipestone’s Blake Wolters pinned Canby’s Gavin Benz 22 seconds into the second period to send his squad to the section semifinals.

The Arrows will take on top-seeded Wabasso/Red Rock Central at 1 p.m. Saturday in Benson for the right to move on to the section championship.

Canby got a pin from Jack Citrowske at 120 pounds in the early going of Thursday’s match as the Lancers won three of the first four matches to gain a 13-4 advantage. Pipestone then reeled off four straight wins to go up 20-13.

John Deslauriers stopped Canby’s skid with a 5-3 decision over Allan Hachmann at 160 pounds. Christian Full added another win by decision at 170 pounds, and Michael Petersen gave the Lancers four points thanks to a 13-3 major decision over Jacob Geldeman at 182 points.

The Lancers went up 26-20 when Bryce Gorder won a 2-0 decision over Cole Stapples at 195 pounds before Pipestone won the final two bouts to clinch the victory.

Pipestone 29, Canby 26

106-Wyatt Johansen (C) dec. Garrett Ploeger, 8-2

113-Michael Suda (P) maj. dec. Konnor King, 17-6

120-Jack Citrowske (C) pinned Nate Westfield, 3:05

126-Quentin Beiningen (C) maj. dec. Jacoby Hunt, 13-2

132-Cole Nordemeyer (P) maj. dec. Billy Deslauriers, 11-1

138-Alex Ossefoort (P) dec. Nick Stoks, 8-3

145-Walker Kor (P) pinned Brock Nothem, 4:35

152-Brady Bos (P) dec. Austin Campbell, 12-5

160-John Deslauriers (C) dec. Allan Hachmann, 5-3

170-Christian Full (C) maj. dec. Will Smith, 5-1

182-Michael Petersen (C) maj. dec. Jacob Geldeman, 13-3

195-Bryce Gorder (C) dec. Cole Stapples, 2-0

220-Jared Nygaard (P) tiebreak 1 dec. Adam Evenson, 3-2

285-Blake Wolters (P) pinned Gavin Benz, 2:22

Minneota 49, BOLD 13

The Minneota wrestling team had no trouble getting past BOLD Thursday night in the quarterfinals of the Section 3A team tournament, as the 10th-ranked Vikings cruised to a 49-13 victory.

Minneota, which is seeded third in the tournament, pulled out to a 13-0 lead through three matches and never looked back. The Vikings got pins from six wrestlers on the day, including Eric Hauswedell at 113 pounds, Alec Engler at 132, Nicholas Esping at 138, Grant Abraham at 145, Isaac Josephson at 195 and Doug VanKeulen at 285.

Awaiting the Vikings in the semifinals of the tournament is No. 2 seed Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, which defeated Benson 62-15 on Thursday. Minneota and KMS will take the mat at 1 p.m. Saturday in Benson, with the winner moving on to the finals later in the day.

Minneota 49, BOLD 13

106-Brock Buysse (M) dec. Brady Zitzmann, 6-4

113-Eric Hauswedell (M) pinned Drew Maher, 3:43

120-Landyn VanOverbeke (M) maj. dec. Brett Grund, 12-2

126-Benny Garcia (B) dec. Leo Buysse, 4-2

132-Alec Engler (M) pinned Zach Malecek, 4:28

138-Nicholas Esping (M) pinned Devin Garcia, 1:20

145-Grant Abraham (M) pinned Derrick Lothert, 0:28

152-Cole Hennen (M) dec. Chaz Rousch, 2-1

160-Ben Steffel (B) dec. Justin VanKeulen, 2-0

170-Alex Hatch (B) dec. Nathan Bueltel, 10-4

182-Trent Esping (M) dec. Martin Minkel, 7-6

195-Isaac Josephson (M) pinned Joel Erickson, 2:29

220-Manuel Garcia (B) maj. dec. Jameson Hettling, 20-7

285-Doug VanKeulen, (M) pinned Chris Carnes, 1:12