Campus notes for March 6

Sullivan receives chancellor’s award for fall term

Erin Sullivan of Marshall received the chancellor’s award for the fall 2012 semester at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Sullivan majors in human development and family studies.

The award is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Area students named to CSB dean’s list

Five local students have earned the distinction of being named to the dean’s list for the 2012 fall semester at the College of St. Benedict.

Elizabeth M. Hansen, daughter of John Hansen and Pam Fier-Hansen of Marshall. Hansen is a sophomore mathematics major at CSB.

Nicole Noyes, daughter of Ken and Janice Noyes of Marshall. Noyes is a junior biology major at CSB.

Stephanie Noyes, daughter of Ken and Janice Noyes of Marshall. Noyes is a junior biology major at CSB.

Emily VanKeulen, daughter of Pat and Karen VanKeulen of Ghent. VanKeulen is a senior nursing major at CSB.

Kathryn Vogl, daughter of Todd and Pauline Vogl of Marshall. Vogl is a junior theology major at CSB.

To be included on the dean’s list, students must have a grade point average of at least 3.80 and have completed 12 credits for which honor points (A, B, C, etc.) are awarded.

Area students inducted to PTK fraternity

Minnesota West Community and Technical College congratulated the Alpha Nu Kappa Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa for inducting 22 new members for spring 2013 semester.

Phi Theta Kappa is a national honor fraternity for the liberal arts college students. Membership is by invitation based on 15 semester hours of credit with a 3.50 or above grade point average. The group sponsors various service activities throughout the year.

Area students admitted to PTK are, Canby campus: Joann Wolf, Canby. Granite Falls campus: Katherine Fragodt, Cottonwood. Worthington campus: Megan Olsem, Lamberton; Regina Wilson, Slayton.

Champine among students inducted into sociology honor society

Alison Champine, a senior sociology and Spanish major from Marshall, was among the seven Augustana students inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta, the International Sociology Honor Society, March 2 at Augustana College in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Additional SDSU students named to dean’s list

The following students have been named to the dean’s list for academic excellence during the fall 2012 semester at South Dakota State University. To earn dean’s list distinctions in SDSU’s eight colleges, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Students with an asterisk received a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

College of Arts and Science/College of Education and Human Sciences

*Jade Possail, Tyler.

College of Agricultural and Biological Sciences

*Tylee Norman, Milroy; *Lee Opdahl, Minneota.

College of Engineering

Andrew Bakker, Balaton; *Brian Lawburgh, Hendricks; James Lawburgh, Hendricks.

College of Nursing

*Becca Chandler, Balaton.