Speech team splits up for weekend competition

The Marshall speech split its team to participate in three separate tournaments on Saturday

At NFL National Qualifiers, senior Bo Erickson in Original Oratory advanced to finals (top 6) and placed third, qualifying him for the National Forensic League National Speech Tournament.

“This is an great honor for Bo,” Marshall coach Rick Purrington said. “He has been a tremendously successful competitor the last four years and for him to qualify at this ultra-competitive tournament says a lot about not only his natural charisma and talent but also his internal drive and work ethic.”

MHS also received the NFL Leading Chapter Award as a team Saturday. This award is given to the top Speech-only team (doesn’t have a debate team) at the tournament.

“To be recognized by our national Speech organization, the National Forensic League, is a special tribute to the amount of time and effort and commitment our team members put in – they deserve this award.”

Advancing to the semi-final round (top 12) at NFL National Qualifiers were:

McKenzie Vermeire, Humorous

Seth McGonigle and Aletta Arndt, Duo

Bo Erickson, Drama

Seth McGonigle, Drama

Nick Evans, Original Oratory

MHS also competed at the Eagan Invitational tournament on Saturday.

Award winners include:

Jeff Paskach, 3rd Championship Creative Expression

Luke Schroeder, 4th Championship Drama

Jessica Oaxaca, 1st

Honors Prose

Danny West, 4th

Honors Humorous

Jessica Oaxaca, 4th Honors Extemporaneous Reading

Abby Surprenant, 5th Honors Original Oratory

Emily Mortier, 6th

Honors Storytelling

Daniel Merna, 7th

Honors Original Oratory

MHS also competed at the St. Peter Invitational tournament on Saturday.

Award winners include:

Anja Baumgarn, 2nd

Varsity Informative

Cassaundra Krogen, 2nd

Varsity Great Speeches

Annalise Wasberg, 3rd

Varsity Drama

Ashley Zmeskal, 3rd

Varsity Informative

Mitch MaGrath, 4th

Varsity Discussion

Michael Gutman, 8th

Varsity Informative

Talitha Black, 8th

Varsity Creative Expression

Belle Chamberlain, 1st

Novice Drama

Eukariah Tabaka, 1st

Novice Storytelling

Matt Christianson, 1st

Novice Humorous

Natalie Sovell, 1st

Novice Great Speeches

Alex Taylor, 2nd

Novice Prose

Monica Timmerman, 2nd

Novice Great Speeches

Shannyn Chesley, 3rd

Novice Poetry

Bethany Zeug, 4th

Novice Humorous

David Black, 4th

Novice Informative

Shania Deutz, 6th

Novice Prose