All-Camden Conference honorees announced for basketball

The Camden Conference released its list of all-conference honorees for the 2012-13 season in boys’ and girls’ basketball. Class A girls’ basketball state champion Minneota has three All-Camden players and the Camden South Division player of the year.

Taylor Reiss, a 5-foot-10 sophomore forward who scored 30 points and had 12 rebounds in Saturday’s Class A championship game victory over Ada-Borup, was named the Camden South player of the year. She helped lead the Vikings to a 30-2 record and a perfect mark in conference play.

Minneota junior point guard Shelby Corbin and junior forward Molly Hennen were both named to the all-conference team along with sophomore guard Emily Stienessen. Reiss, Hennen and Stienessen were all named to the Class A All-Tournament team for their part in the Vikings’ title run. Chad Johnston was named the Camden South coach of the year.

Other All-Camden honorees from the South division include Canby’s Ricki Kallhoff and Morgan Merritt, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton’s Kaylie Nielsen and Leslie Willert, and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton’s Cassie Hook and Jenna Stoneberg.

Dawson-Boyd sophomore guard Justine Lee was named the Camden North’s player of the year. Lee led the Blackjacks to a 23-4 overall record and a 14-2 mark in conference play. Three of the Blackjacks’ four losses were to Minneota.

Sophomore forward Kelly Husby and senior center Mari Lee were All-Conference selections for Dawson-Boyd, and Blackjacks head coach Randy Haakenson was named the Camden North coach of the year.

Lakeview had three all-conference honorees. Junior center Brianna Hoffman joined the list along with senior point guard Corbyn Wee and senior forward Allison Boerboom.

In boys’ basketball, Camden Conference champion Russell-Tyler-Ruthton’s Brett Peterson was chosen to be the South division player of the year after averaging more than 20 points, five rebounds and five assists per game while leading the Knights to a 27-2 overall record and a 15-0 mark in conference action.

RTR senior guard Shay Wabeke earned All-Camden Conference honors and head coach Ted Kern was picked as the South division coach of the year after leading the Knights to a No. 5 ranking in Class A.

Canby had three all-conference selections following a resurgent 19-7 season. Junior guard Michael Slaba joined senior guards Cole Brusven and Nate Stafki as All-Camden players.

Among other all-conference players from the South division were Lincoln HI junior guard Jordan Beck, Minneota’s Grant Hennen and Dylan Tolk, and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton senior guards Alec Swan and Parker Lanoue.

Dawson-Boyd junior point guard Joey Lee was picked as the Camden North player of the year after helping get the Blackjacks to the Section 3A championship game. Dawson-Boyd senior guard Nathaniel Huot and sophomore forward Michael Lee were both all-conference selections, and Cory Larson was named the division’s coach of the year.

Lakeview had two All-Camden players in sophomore center Jonah Dovre and senior guard Derek Larsen.