SMSU graduation

639 scheduled to graduate May 11

Six hundred and thirty-nine bachelor’s, master’s and associate degree candidates are scheduled to graduate May 11 from Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall. A total of 365 will participate in the 45th commencement exercises, which start at 10 a.m. in the Recreation/Athletic Facility. The commencement speaker will be Dr. Rassoul Daztmozd, a 1983 SMSU alumnus and president of St. Paul College. The class of 2013 includes students who will graduate with honors. They are indicated as follows: *Cum Laude 3.30-3.49 grade-point-average); **Magna Cum Laude 3.50-3.79); and ***Summa Cum Laude 3.80-4.0.). A 3.0 average is a grade of “B” and a 4.0 is a grade of “A.”

Degree candidates from the area are:


College of Business, Education, and Professional Studies


Master of Business Administration

Dawson-Kellie Beth Olson (MBA in Management);

Granite Falls-Cal Paul Christian (MBA in Management);

Marshall-Vindash Susan Chacko (MBA in Management); Brian John Ehlenbach (MBA in Management); Sapana Joshi (MBA in Management); Joseph Gichia Karanja (MBA in Management); Ryan Kenneth Timm (MBA in Management); Pegedwende Nadine Kinda (MBA in Management); Girish Govind Rajkarnikar (MBA in Management); Pratik Shrestha (MBA in Management); Anurag Rajbir Singh (MBA in Management); Sandhya Thapa (MBA in Management); Nimi E. Varkey (MBA in Management);


Master of Science

Canby-Amy M. Nemitz (MS in Education);

Fulda-Mary Catherine Appel (MS in Education); Linda Carol Swanson (MS in Special Education)

Hanley Falls-Christopher John Sieling (MS in Education);

Marshall-Erin Elizabeth Eichten (MS in Education); Amy J. Labat (MS in Education);

Slayton-Laura Anita Jenson (MS in Special Education);

Tracy-Pamela Ann Anderson (MS in Education); Brian-Paco Paul Bertrand-Cyr (MS in Education);

Westbrook-Amanda Jo Dibble (MS in Education);

Wood Lake-Heather Marie Vyskocil (MS in Special Education);


GRADUATES OF THE HONORS PROGRAM: Honors program students design their own programs of General Studies and Rural Studies (subject to approval by the Honors Review Board). Students must maintain a 3.3 overall grade point average.

Canby-Brieann Rechell Gutzke (BS in Physical Education); Kacie Kristina Thielges (BS in Finance); Torrie Katya Ward (BS in Social Work);

Chandler-Andrew Thomas Busman* (BS in Agribusiness Management);

Cottonwood-Troy Robert Bockelman** (BS in Agribusiness Management); Christopher Dahl (BS in Management); Shelby K. Javens** (BS in Elementary Education); Ellen M. Kroger** (BAS in B.A.S.-Management); Tyler D. Peterson* (BA in Mathematics); Morgan Ashley Wee (BS in Finance);

Currie-David Scott Kelsey Bassett (BA in Art); Charlotte Rae Lindberg (BA in Political Science);

Echo-Thomas Michael Gluth (BS in Management); Nancy Dawn Schmidt (BS in Elementary Education);

Fulda-Christina Marie Stainer** (BS in Culinology); Brooke Nicole Zins (BS in Marketing); Tiffany Marie Zins (BS in Hospitality Management/Accounting);

Granite Falls-Abbey Marie Finken (BS in Environmental Science); Cheri Lee Fjermestad*** (BS in Finance); Phyllis Francine Litllecreek-Wilbanks (BS in Business Administration); Courtney Lynn O’Neal* (BS in Social Work); Ashley Rose Vikander (BS in Exercise Science);

Hanley Falls-Brianne Renae Brusven** (BS in Physical Education/Teaching/Health Education); Martin Hans Hagen* (BS in Agribusiness Management);

Hazel Run-Gena Sue Stevens* (BA in Psychology);

Ivanhoe-Barry Ronald Gronke Jr. (BAS in B.A.S.-Management); Theresa Denise Klingbile (BA in Philosophy); Brittany Ann Van Overbeke** (BA in Biology);

Lake Wilson-Jenna Marie Carlson*** (BA in Biology);

Lamberton-Brian Charles Benedict (BS in Marketing); Marilee L. Imker Rybacki** (BS in Management); Travis David Vollmer (BS in Agribusiness Management);

Lucan-Shawna Marie Allan (BS in Finance); Abigail Della Carlson (BS in Management);

Lynd-Shane Michael VanDamme** (BS in Physical Education);

Marshall-Askandar Abdalla Adam (BS in Finance/Management); Angelia Faye Andrews (BS in Early Childhood Education); Anthony Oladele Awoleye (BA in Political Science); Katelyn Ruth Breczinski (BA in Professional Writing & Communication); Beau Jay Bredeson (BS in Finance); Maureen Clare Carmody (BS in Agribusiness Management/Marketing); Tiffany Valentina Deutz (BA in Art); Amanda Jean Kline (BA in Speech Communication); Eryn Marie Dunlap (BAS in B.A.S.-Management); David Lee Ellingson (BS in Finance); Riek Gach Gatluak (BA in Political Science); Rachel Ann Graupmann** (BS in Environmental Science); Benjamin Haugen (BS in Physical Education/Teaching); Jordan Daniel Jacobson (BS in Agronomy); Michelle Jacobson (BS in Elementary Education/Early Childhood Education); Hannah Louise MacArthur** (BS in Management); Jeremiah Daniel Murphy (BS in Culinology); Tricia Ann Murphy (BA in Psychology); Ryan Richard Ortmann (BS in Marketing); Joseph Conrad Pfannschmidt** (BA in Music); Kaitlyn Grace Rabaey (BS in Management); Kelly Mae Sanders (BS in Social Work); Rachel Rae Serreyn** (BS in Individualized Interdisciplinary Studies); Hope Renee Shatto** (BS in Marketing); Lance R. Snell (BS in Computer Science); Tina M. Sturgeon (BS in Hospitality Management); Karli Marie Vandeputte (BS in Physical Education and an AS in Business Administration); Joshua Thomas Alden Watterson** (BS in Exercise Science);

Minneota-Mayra Alejandra Molina (BA in Biology); Nicole Kathryn Prellwitz (BA in Psychology and a BS in Social Work); Kyle Ramie Timmerman (BS in Finance);

Pipestone-Chelsey Renee Evans (BS in Elementary Education/Early Childhood Education); Brooke Renee Henderson (BS in Marketing); Jordan Thomas Karels (BS in Physical Education);

Redwood Falls-LeAnn Stacie Heimer* (BA in Psychology); Reanna Elizabeth Jacobs (BS in Social Work); Jenna Ranee MacHolda** (BS in Exercise Science); Justin Lee Nielsen (BA in Psychology); Kayla Sue Nielsen (BS in Social Work);

Russell-Kristine Marie Petersen** (BS in Management); Casey Jo Thooft* (BS in Exercise Science);

Sanborn-Joshua Cary Fredrickson (BS in Mathematics Education); Paul Mitchell Wilmes (BA in Speech Communication);

Slayton-Brian Nicholas Bau (BA in History); Dan Scott Carlson (BS in Justice Administration); Emily Marie Counter (BS in Elementary Education); Paul Robert Counter (BS in Management); Chelsey Kay Nelson (BS in Physical Education); Kassandra Jai Schreiber*** (BS in Exercise Science); Laramie Lee Wynia (BS in Accounting);

Tracy-Alexander Oliver Jones** (BS in Communication Arts & Literature/Secondary Education-English);

Wabasso-Debra Ann Goblirsch (BS in Hospitality Management); Micah Werner Gronli (BS in Agribusiness Management); Amanda Kristin Hatch (BA in Art); Justin Leo Prokosch (BS in Agribusiness Management);

Westbrook-Sally Jo Grams (BA in Speech Communication);