Campus notes for May 1

Lee included on CLC fall honors list

Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples, has announced its 2012 fall semester honors list. The president’s list includes 299 students who earned a grade point average of 3.75 to 4.0 while enrolled for at least 12 credits.

The dean’s list includes 438 students who earned a grade point average of 3.25 to 3.74.

Honors students from this area include: Granite Falls, Taylor Lee, president’s list.

Minnesota West recognizes All-Minnesota Academic Team members

Minnesota West Community and Technical College congratulates Michaela Miller, Shelby Springman, Todd VanHeuveln, Isaac Wass and Ashley Zelmer for being named to the All-Minnesota Academic Team. These students were nominated by staff or faculty to apply for the team.

In 1994, state academic teams were introduced as a way to provide scholarships and scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members while promoting excellence at two-year colleges.

Area students are:

Miller of Tracy, a student at Minnesota West, Pipestone campus. She is enrolled at Pipestone for medical administrative secretary with the coding specialist diploma. After completing her degree, she plans on transferring to South Dakota State University to begin the pre-professional program for physical therapy. She has been Student Senate president and involved with Minnesota State College Student Association. She has received major scholarships including the Minnesota State Archery Association, MSCSA Leadership Scholarship and Outstanding Young Adult scholarship.

VanHeuveln of Cottonwood is a nontraditional student at Minnesota West, Granite Falls campus, he has completed his A.A.S. degree in information security and assurances and computer support technician and is currently working on his A.A. degree at Minnesota West. He plans on earning his bachelor’s degree in operations management from Minnesota State University, Moorhead. VanHeuveln has been involved in Student Senate, Phi Theta Kappa and Business Professionals of America. He has won both state and national competitions in BPA.

Miller, Springman, VanHeuveln, Wass and Zemler attended a formal recognition ceremony on April 19 in Vadnais Heights. The five Minnesota West nominees received a medallion during the ceremony. The 2013 All-Minnesota Academic Team consists of 48 outstanding students throughout the state of Minnesota each student representing a Minnesota Community and Technical College.

Local students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa honor society

Two local students from the College of St. Benedict, St. Joseph, were inducted into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa on April 23 at Pellegrene Auditorium, St. John’s University.

The 75 students being inducted include:

Nicole Noyes, daughter of Ken and Janice Noyes of Marshall. Noyes is a junior biology major at CSB.

Stephanie Noyes, daughter of Ken and Janice Noyes of Marshall. Noyes is a junior biology major at CSB.

A total of 63 seniors and 12 juniors were selected by faculty members at CSB and SJU who are members of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest academic honor society, which was founded in 1776.

Hoekstra to study in Australia

St. Cloud State University senior Chelsey Hoekstra, the daughter of John and Karen Hoekstra of Marshall, will participate in the Herberger Business School’s education abroad program in Australia during May Intersession 2013.

Participating students examine economic globalization issues in a range of business and social settings. Students will gain historical and contemporary perspectives on life in Australia while they make normal progress toward the completion of their degrees. Student coursework includes the Australia Educational Tour, which is made up of on-site business visits, economic and cultural briefings, and lectures by subject matter experts.

Mitlyng receives MSU, Moorhead scholarship

Katy Mitlyng of Marshall has received a $500 Upper Class Scholarship from Minnesota State University, Moorhead. Mitlyng is the daughter of Bruce and Deb Mitlyng.

The Upper Class Academic Scholarship is available to students pursuing their first bachelor’s degree with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and completion of at least 12 MSUM credits. The award recognizes outstanding academic achievement, leadership and contributions to campus and community organizations.