Campus notes for June 5

Deutz graduates from CSB

Bridget Deutz recently graduated cum laude from the College of St. Benedict in St, Joseph. Deutz received her bachelor of arts in communication, focused in marketing and advertising. Finishing classes in December, Deutz began work in Sartell as a social media marketing coordinator in January and walked with her classmates in their May commencements. While at St. Ben’s, Deutz received Presidential and Vocal Music scholarships, was on the dean’s list, studied abroad in Australia and sat on the executive board of the CSB|SJU Chapter of the American Marketing Association.

Deutz is the daughter of Rick and Deb (Maertens) Deutz of Ghent.

NSU releases spring 2013 dean’s list

Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D., has released the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.

Students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average for the semester are eligible for the dean’s list. There are four categories:

Full-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

Full-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

Part-time students with a GPA of 3.5-3.99.

Part-time students with a GPA of 4.0.

Students who achieved dean’s list status are listed below.

Full-time students 3.50-3.99

Balaton: Shane Erickson. Ghent: Walker Hennen. Minneota: Jenna Hennen, Tonya Kloos, Megan Spanton.

Full-time students 4.0

Wabasso: Morgan McKittrick.

Local students receive 2013-2014 DSU Cyber Corps scholarship

Dakota State University announces the 2013-14 recipients of the Cyber Corps scholarship. The scholarships are funded by the National Science Foundation’s Scholarship for Service program and the Department of Defense’s Information Assurance Scholarship program.

The DSU students receive a scholarship covering full tuition and fees for the 2013-14 academic year in addition to a $17,000-$25,000 stipend depending on year in school. Students also complete a security internship with a government agency during the summer months. Scholarship recipients are both undergraduate and graduate students in the Cyber Security degree programs at DSU. After graduation, each student will work in cyber security professions at the federal, state, local, or tribal level of government.

The Cyber Corps program at DSU funds eight-10 additional students per year and is directed by Josh Pauli, cyber security professor in the College of Business and Information Systems. The 2013-14 scholarship recipients are:

Cody Welu of Milroy and Shawn Zwach of Tracy.

Local students participate in commencement ceremony at SJU

Three local students participated in the commencement ceremony at St. John’s University May 12, in the St. John’s Abbey and University Church, Collegeville.

James Obler, son of Chuck Obler and Lori Vikesland Obler of Marshall, participated in the commencement ceremony at SJU. Obler is a candidate to receive a bachelor of arts degree in an individualized natural science major.

Shane Schiavo, son of Larry and Dawn Schiavo of Marshall, participated in the commencement ceremony at SJU. Schiavo is a candidate to receive a bachelor of arts degree in management.

Ethan Schoephoerster, son of Ronald and Betty Schoephoerster of Marshall, participated in the commencement ceremony at SJU. Schoephoerster is a candidate to receive a bachelor of arts degree in accounting.

Minnesota West announces spring semester 2013 dean’s list

Minnesota West Community and Technical College recently announced its spring semester 2013 dean’s list:

Local students making the dean’s list are:

Canby campus: Paul Becker, Lake Benton; Brent Braun, Slayton; Anthony Callens, Taunton; Brian Cam, Dawson; Thalia Esparza, Marshall; Samuel Fenger, Cottonwood; Daniel Hacker, Canby; Jacob Hoffman, Porter; Heather Lacek, Ivanhoe; Callin Lindemann, Marshall; Brandon Prellwitz, Minneota; Cole Salfer, Marshall; Emily Sowder, Canby; Emma Weber, Dawson; Dean Windingstad, Canby; Kirk Wisecup, Canby; Snowflower Yang, Marshall.

Granite Falls campus: Chelsie Dallenbach, Walnut Grove; Deanna DeVos, Marshall; Matthew Dinesen, Granite Falls; Angela Evans, Cottonwood; Krista Johnson, Minneota; Cynthia Kollar, Cottonwood; Tonya Lightfoot, Lynd; Shannon Marotzke, Vesta; Brenda Matthys, Cottonwood; Jesica Rosburg, Clarkfield; Tami Schmidt, Cottonwood; Kristin Sellner, Cottonwood; Brandi Stefansen, Minneota; Jamie Stuckey, Marshall; Daniella Trauba, Granite Falls; Anita Wiegmann, Cottonwood.

Jackson campus: Shanice Benson, Lamberton; Tanya Balko, Marshall.

Online: McKenzie Franzky, Dawson; Cindy Jenkins, Marshall; Danial Johnson, Dawson; Jessica Laleman, Minneota; Kimberly Marczak, Cottonwood; Whitney Meyer, Marshall; Nichole Soderberg, Marshall, Joleen Warwick, Granite Falls; Chang Xiong, Marshall.

Montevideo campus: Sarah Behrens, Milroy; Roberta Brown, Balaton; Danelle Doyscher, Tyler; Kristin Fritz, Tyler; Hunter Holck, Ruthton; Shawn Lietz, Ivanhoe; Sherri Looft, Tyler; Katie Mensen, Balaton; Daniella Petersen, Lake Benton; Heather Sitzmann, Tyler; Jessica Steele, Hendricks; Jennifer Werner, Lake Benton; Amanda Woitaszewski, Currie; Divena Zeug, Marshall.

Worthington campus: Joleen Baumann, Walnut Grove; Danielle Beekman, Marshall; Aaron Furth, Lamberton; Pamela Giles, Tracy; Adrian Hoesli, Walnut Grove.

Opdahl awarded scholarship

Lee Opdahl of Minneota was awarded the Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing (3M) Scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year at South Dakota State University.

Opdahl is a senior majoring in biology/microbiology/biotechnology at SDSU, where he is a SDSU biology tutor, Brookings County youth mentor, SDSU Virology researcher and Brookings Health Hospice volunteer.

He is the son of Jim and Andrea Opdahl and is a 2009 graduate of the Minneota High School.

The Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing plants located in Brookings and Aberdeen provide the 3M Scholarships.

The plant in Brookings was the first 3M plant built to specifically manufacture health-care products.

Area students graduate from Augustana College

Four hundred and 13 students participated in the Augustana College Commencement ceremony May 25 at the Elmen Center.

The following areas students received degrees from Augustana College:

Alison Champine from Marshall, bachelor of arts, magna cum laude.

Kimberly Homan from Marshall, bachelor of arts, summa cum laude.

Megan Kremin from Cottonwood, bachelor of arts, cum laude.

Ashley Morin from Currie, bachelor of arts.

Anna Olson from Cottonwood, bachelor of arts.

Ashley Schreurs from Marshall, bachelor of arts.

UND releases list of area residents on 2013 spring semester dean’s list

The University of North Dakota has released its 2013 spring semester dean’s list. The list is comprised of students whose grade point averages are in the top 15 percent of the enrollment in each of the University’s degree-granting colleges and schools. A student must have completed no fewer than 12 semester hours of academic work for the semester, of which eight or more hours must be graded work rather than “satisfactory/unsatisfactory.”

Kelsey Lee of Dawson is on the dean’s list.

DSU spring honors list released

The following area students were named to the president’s academic honors list for the spring semester at Dakota State University in Madison, S.D.: Ashley Sixta of Lake Benton, Mariah Grelson of Marshall, Rebecca Woelfel of Wabasso and Samantha Hay of Walnut Grove, with a 4.0 grade point average.

A total of 370 students qualified for the honors list. Highest honors were earned by 145 students who achieved a 4.0 grade point average; the remaining students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the honors list.