Campus notes for June 19

Schoephoerster receives scholarship from BSU

Bemidji State University offers a variety of scholarship opportunities. Local students have accepted $2,000 university scholarships for the 2013-12 academic year. Madison Schoephoerster, freshman, undecided, received a scholarship.

Hulsizer graduates from North Central

Rachel Hulsizer, a 2010 Marshall High School graduate, graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor of arts degree in social work from North Central University in downtown Minneapolis.

She is a member of Psi Chi, a national honor society in psychology. Psi Chi is the national honor society in psychology. The organization’s purpose is to encourage, stimulate and maintain excellence in scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in psychology.

Membership eligibility includes completion of three semesters of college, nine semesters of psychology coursework and for students to be in the top 35 percent of their class.

Rasmusson included on Southeast Technical spring president’s list

Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical announces the president’s list for spring semester 2013. To be eligible for this honor, students must complete a minimum of 12 credits at Southeast Technical during an academic term and achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or above to be named to the president’s list.

Caleb Rasmusson of Marshall was named to the list.

Area students named to Augustana’s dean’s list

Augustana College has announced that the following area students have been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester of the 2012-2013 academic year: Anthony Blomme of Marshall, Alison Champine of Marshall, Craig Haukom of Marshall, Luke Jessen of Boyd, Eli Louwagie of Marshall, Anna Olson of Cottonwood and Ashley Vogt of Balaton.

The dean’s list recognizes full-time students who have a minimum of 12 credit hours with grade point averages at 3.5 or above.

Area students receive diplomas from Alexandria Tech

The following area students received a diploma at Alexandria Technical and Community College’s graduation ceremony May 15 in Alexandria.

Emily Bot of Marshall received an associate in applied science degree in medical administrative specialist and diplomas in medical coding specialist and medical transcriptionist/editor.

Adam Debbaut of Milroy received a diploma in welding technology.

Justina Melton of Marshall received an associate in arts degree in liberal arts and sciences.

Megan Van Keulen of Ghent received an associate in applied science degree in child development.

Surprenant receives degree from Kansas State

Nearly 3,000 students completed degree requirements from Kansas State University this spring.

Students earning degrees include: Jenna Surprenant, bachelor of science, Marshall.

Local students named to MSU Moorhead dean’s list

The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement for the 2013 spring semester. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Casie Baer, Canby, exercise science, athletic training; Jacob Bothun, Dawson, finance; Jennifer DeBlieck, Granite Falls, speech/language/hearing science; Renae Hansen, studio art; Marissa Johnson, Marshall, social work; Cynthia Kvaal, Dawson, speech/language/hearing science; Peter Lonnquist, Boyd, composition; Katie Madsen, Ruthton, speech/language/hearing science; Katy Mitlyng, Marshall, music education; Jacob Moe, Ghent, computer science; Kayla Revel, Lynd, elementary inclusive education; Ashley Schmitt, Boyd, business administration; Amanda Steffes, Hendricks, speech/language/hearing science; Megan Stratmoen, Dawson, elementary inclusive education; Lana Syltie, Porter, English/mass communications; Logan Thompson, Canby, biology; Shawn Tykwinski, Marshall, finance; Stacey Tykwinski, Marshall, elementary inclusive education.

Hanson named to 2013 spring semester dean’s list at Luther College

Luke Hanson, Luther College senior from Cottonwood, was named to the 2013 spring semester dean’s list.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale and must complete at least 12 credit hours with 10 hours of conventional grades (A, B, C, D).

Lynne named to dean’s list at William Woods

Megan Lynne of Clarkfield was named to the dean’s list at William Woods University for academic accomplishments during the 2013 spring semester.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be full time and have achieved a minimum 3.6 semester and cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Minnesota students receive degrees from NDSU

Area Minnesota students were among the 1,565 students to graduate from North Dakota State University in spring 2013.

Marshall: Rachelle Kunde, PHARMD in pharmacy and Thomas Williams, BS in psychology.

Porter: *Brady Miller, BS in accounting and *Jeremy Miller BS in finance.

Ruthton: *Bryce DeWilde, BSME in mechanical engineering.

* Denotes graduation with honors

Area students included in class of 2013 graduates at Gustavus Adolphus

The following local individuals were among the 545 students to graduate with bachelor of arts degrees from Gustavus Adolphus College during the school’s annual commencement exercises June 2. Garvin: Megan Nelson, communication studies. Marshall: Amy Her, biology, Michael Holmberg, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Gustavus Adolphus announces 2013 spring semester dean’s list

The spring semester dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College has been released. The list is comprised of students who have earned a 3.7 grade point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in May 2013.

The following local students were named to the dean’s list at Gustavus Adolphus College: Marshall: Megan Holmberg, Angelica MacDonald.

Winona State dean’s list for spring term 2013 announced

Winona State University announces the dean’s list for spring term 2013. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full time (at least 12 credit hours for a grade) and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Marshall: Taylor Miller, Melanie Smisek. Ghent: Kelli Van Leeuwe.

Lake Area Tech releases president’s list

Lake Area Technical Institute announced the current president’s list. The president’s list is a list of outstanding students who, through their initiative and ability, have indicated a seriousness of purpose in their educational program. The president’s list is limited to full-time students who have achieved a semester grade point average of 3.5 to 4.0.

Local and area students so honored include: Mitchell LaVoy, Marshall.