Six Marshall-area players land on All-Section 3A baseball team

The list of All-Section 3A baseball players was released last week and six standouts from the Marshall-area teams were recognized for their seasons.

Wabasso had a pair of all-section players in senior pitcher Seth Guetter and senior catcher/pitcher Blake Altermatt. Guetter sported a 1.40 ERA in 45 innings pitched for the Rabbits. At the plate he batted .375 with seven doubles. Altermatt led Wabasso in hits (22), batting average (.386), slugging percentage (.596) and on-base percentage (.462). He also had a 1.87 ERA in 15 innings on the mound.

Murray County Central’s Sam Erickson was one of the top pitchers in the are in 2013 and also earned all-section honors. He had a minuscule 0.77 ERA in 44 2/3 innings with 79 strikeouts to just 10 walks.

Canby’s Tate Citrowske also made the list during a senior season that was delayed by injury. He still batted a team-high .304 for the Lancers with a .484 on-base percentage.

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton’s Austin Gleis was one of just two sophomores named to the all-section team. He led TMB with a .365 batting average and had three doubles. He also stole eight bases and had an on-base percentage of .431.

Jordan Beck represented Minneota/Lincoln HI on the all-section list. The junior infielder/pitcher posted a .420 batting average with 13 runs scored, 13 RBIs and 10 stolen bases.

Windom Area led 3A with four all-section nods, while Springfield was second with three.

All-Section 3A Baseball Team

Windom Area: Collin Lovell (sr., pitcher), Brandon Thongvivong (sr., shortstop), Travis Janssen (sr., first base), Danny Kneeland (sr. , catcher).

Springfield: Jacob Menage (sr., catcher), Shawn Anderson (sr., outfield), Cooper Scheffler (jr., infield).

Lac qui Parle Valley: Preston Kraft (sr., catcher), Ben Morken (sr., pitcher).

MACCRAY: Tyler Donner (sr., pitcher), Caleb Melin (jr., shortstop).

Wabasso: Seth Guetter (sr., pitcher), Blake Altermatt (sr., infield).

Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian: Blake Jouwstra (sr., second base), Luke Nibbelink (so., outfield).

Central Minnesota Christian: Sam Ohden (sr., pitcher).

Murray County Central: Sam Erickson (sr., pitcher).

Canby: Tate Citrowske (sr., infield).

Southwestern United: Erik Jass (sr., catcher).

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton: Austin Gleis (so., outfield).

Minneota/Lincoln/HI: Jordan Beck (jr., pitcher).

Adrian: Jordan Dingmann (jr., outfield).