PREP CROSS COUNTRY: Marshall girls headed to state meet

The Marshall girls cross country team will make its first state appearance in seven years after claiming a second-place finish at the Class AA Section 2 Championships at Buffalo Heights Golf Course in Buffalo.

With the help of three top-ten finishes, the Tigers scored 63 team points to place second behind Chanhassen, which had 39 points.

Marshall secured its first state meet appearance in seven years. In 2006, the Tigers placed fourth in Class AA.

Freshman Claire Boersma led Marshall with an eighth place effort, finishing in 15 minutes, 17 seconds. She qualified individually for the Class AA State Championships in 2012, where she placed 144th.

One second behind Boersma was sophomore Jackie Turner, running to a ninth-place finish. Eighth-grader Nichole Sample rounded out the overall top ten, claiming tenth in15:20.

“We stayed really close to the pack,” MHS girls cross country head coach Marie Sample said. “Our top three runners were right behind Chanhassen’s top three runners.”

This was the first year Turner have competed at the section level.

“Jackie is a first-year runner as a sophomore and that was her first section meet, ever,” Sample said. “For her to come here and run a 15:18, that is just amazing. She wanted to go to the state meet really bad.”

Sample said Chanhassen was the clear section favorite.

“Chanhassen has four seniors and a freshman in its lineup,” Sample said. “They are older runners who have had more development in skill and leg strength.”

Eighth graders Morgan Radel and Courtney Mauch were Marshall’s fourth and fifth runners, finishing 14th and 22nd, respectively.

“We didn’t talk about too much strategy on the starting line,” Sample said. “I said to our runners, ‘This is what Chanhassen looks like and this is what Chaska looks like. Make sure to get in front of both them.”

The Tigers advanced to the Class AA Cross Country State Championships, which will take place Nov. 2 at Saint Olaf College in Northfield.


Marshall boys cross country runner Andrew Bell will make his third trip to the state meet after finishing in ninth in 16:41. He finished 69th at state in 2012 in 16:36.

Bell was the Tigers’ sole qualifier on the boys side with the team placing seventh, just 30 points out of the second-place qualifying position.

“We figured that we could finish anywhere from second through seventh,” Marshall boys cross country head coach Brian Leibfried said. “There a lot of teams bunched together at this section meet.”

Blaine Moran and Michael Larson also finished in the top 25 for MHS. Moran ran to a 17th place finish in 17:09. Larson ran a 17:21, taking home 23rd place. Wade DeAustin finished 32nd overall in 17:34 and Chase VanKeulen was 58th in 18:12.

“Andrew ran a great race and put himself in the state meet,” Leibfreid said. “But the gap between our top five runners was only 1:31, which turned out pretty good for us.”


Girls Team Standings 1. Chanhassen 39, 2. Marshall 63, 3. Chaska 89, 4. Shakopee 96, 5. Waconia 188, 6. New Prague 197, 7. Buffalo 208, 8. Orono 223, 9. Hutchinson 225, 10. Mankato West 242, 11. Mankato East 264, 12. Dassel-Cokato 306, 13. Worthington 341, 14. Delano 375.

Individual Standings 1. Tess Misgen (Shakopee) 14:47; 2. Anastasia Korzenowski (Chanhassen) 14:59; 3. Anna Perrill (Chaska) 15:00; 4. Emily Castanias (Chanhassen) 15:02; 5. Grace Loeslie (Chanhassen) 15:06; 6. Claire Athmann (Chaska) 15:14; 7. Maria Berg (New Prague) 15:16; 8. Claire Boersma (Marshall) 15:17; 9. Jackie Turner (Marshall) 15:18; 10. Nichole Sample (Marshall) 15:20.

Marshall 8. Claires Boersma 15:17; 9. Jackie Turner 15:18; 10. Nichole Sample 15:20; 14. Morgan Radel 15:39; 22. Courtney Mauch 16:08; 27. Sydney Mauch 16:08; 36. Marah Hart 16:26.

Boys Team Standings 1. Hutchinson 60, 2. Chanhassen 109, 3. Chaska 110, 4. Delano 116, 5. Buffalo 118, 6. Shakopee 138, 7. Marshall 139, 8. Orono 193, 9. New Prague 264, 10. Mound Westonka 287, 11. Worthington 292, 12. Mankato West 300, 13. Dassel-Cokato 327, 14. Waconia 359, 15. Mankato East 396.

Individual Standings 1. Isaiah Barlow (Hutchinson) 15:52; 2. Adam Armbruster (Delano) 16:22; 3. Spencer Urick (Chaska) 16:24; 4. Alec Anderson (Hutchinson) 16:26; 5. Chandler Klawitter (Hutchinson) 16:28; 6. Frank Graham (Buffalo) 16:30; 7. Zac Miller (Chaska) 16:34; 8. Michael Wegter (Buffalo) 16:41; 9. Andrew Bell (Marshall) 16:41; 10. Tyler Kobilarcsik (Chahassen) 16:44.

Marshall 9. Andrew Bell 16:41; 17. Blaine Moran 17:09; 23. Michael Larson 17:21; 32. Wade DeAustin 17:34; 58. Chase VanKeulen 18:12; 67. John Botsford 18:26; 86. Mason Reese 18:57.