PREP FOOTBALL: D-B, Wabasso survive; will meet for section title

DAWSON – Dawson-Boyd rallied from a 13-point halftime deficit with a trio of third-quarter touchdowns to defeat Canby 25-20 in a Class A Section 5 Tournament semifinal game Saturday.

Dalton Palmer scored two of his three touchdowns in the third quarter, helping the Blackjacks improve to 9-1 overall and advancing Dawson-Boyd to the Section 5 Tournament championship game against Wabasso (9-1) on Friday at Southwest Minnesota State University.

Trailing 20-7 through two quarters, the Blackjacks used Palmer’s 14-yard third-quarter touchdown run to trim their deficit to seven points. After Michael Lee hauled in a 29-yard TD pass from Joey Lee, Dawson-Boyd was down 20-19. Then, later in the period, Joey Lee found Palmer open for a 70-yard touchdown reception that put the Blackjacks ahead 25-20.

Palmer finished with 272 total yards and 322 all-purpose yards. He ran for 142 yards on 13 carries, while catching two TD passes for 130 yards. Palmer, who added 52 yards with two punt returns and one kickoff return, put Dawson-Boyd ahead 7-0 in the first quarter after receiving a 60-yard touchdown pass from Joey Lee.

Lee ended up 8 of 17 for 229 passing yards with three touchdowns and no interceptions.

After the Lancers trailed 7-0 in the first quarter, Canby (4-6 overall) dominated the first half.

Mathew Sisk’s 13-yard TD pass to Quinten Beinigen tied the game 7-7 in the first quarter. In the second, Michael Slaba’s 3-yard touchdown run put the Lancers ahead 13-7 before Sisk connected with a 15-yard TD pass to Alex Ufkin.

Slaba ran for 109 yards on 28 carries, while Sisk completed 10 of 18 passes for 138 yards and two touchdowns and Brock Nothem caught four passes for 56 yards.

Dawson-Boyd won the battle of total yards 403-270.





First Quarter

DB – Dalton Palmer 60 pass from Joey Lee (Easton Popma kick).

C – Quinten Beinigen 13 pass from Mathew Sisk (Brett Hansen kick).

Second Quarter

C – Michael Slaba 3 run (kick failed).

C – Alex Ufkin 15 pass from Mathew Sisk (Brett Hansen kick).

Third Quarter

DB – Dalton Palmer 14 run (kick failed).

DB – Michael Lee 29 pass from Joey Lee (conversion failed).

DB – Dalton Palmer 70 pass from Joey Lee (conversion failed).

Fourth Quarter

No scoring.


Total Yards270403


Passing Yards145229


Return Yards62101





RUSHING – Canby (Michael Slaba 28-109, Quinten Beinigen 3-16); DB (Dalton Palmer 13-142, Michael Anyasike 5-26, Joey Lee 4-6).

PASSING – Canby (Mathew Sisk 10-18-138-2-0, Josh Gallegos 1-2-7-0-0, Michael Slaba 0-1-0-0-1); DB (Joey Lee 8-17-229-3-0).

RECEIVING – Canby (Brock Nothem 4-56, Alex Ufkin 2-22, Quinten Beinigen 2-15, Kristian Leppke 2-43, Tanner Kack 1-2); DB (Michael Lee 4-78, Dalton Palmer 2-130, Kyler Collins 1-13, Hunter Olson 1-8).

Wabasso 42, MACCRAY 6

WABASSO – The Wabasso Rabbits scored two touchdowns in each of the first three quarters en route to a 42-6 thumping of the MACCRAY Wolverines in a Class A Section 5 Tournament semifinal game Saturday.

Wabasso improved to 9-1 overall and advanced to play Dawson-Boyd (9-1) in the Section 5 Tournament championship game Friday at Southwest Minnesota State University.

Tanner Bock scored three touchdowns on runs of 1, 1 and 20 yards. His first 1-yard TD run handed the Rabbits a 7-0 lead with 8:59 left in the first quarter before Dirk Pistulka caught a 24-yard touchdown pass from Neil Eichten with 17 second remaining in the period.

Bock added his second 1-yard TD run with 4:32 left in the first half as Wabasso went ahead 21-0. The Rabbits took a 28-point lead on T.J. Fulton’s 61-yard run as 68 seconds remained before halftime.

In the third quarter, Eichten completed a 55-yard TD strike to Fulton as Wabasso led 35-0 at the 4:13 mark. Then, Bock scored after his 20-yard touchdown run with 1:13 left in the period.

Bock ran 33 times for 166 yards, while Fulton had four carries for 68 yards. Eichten went 6 of 7 in passing for 135 yards.

Brady Madsen broke up the shutout for MACCRAY on a 1-yard TD run with 2 minutes left.

The Rabbits outgained the Wolverines in total yards 384-201.





First Quarter

W – Tanner Bock 1 run (Tom Duetschmann kick), 8:59.

W – Dirk Pistulka 24 pass from Neil Eichten (Tom Duetschmann kick), 0:17.

Second Quarter

W – Tanner Bock 1 run (Tom Duetschmann kick), 4:32.

W – T.J. Fulton 61 run (Tom Duetschmann kick), 1:08.

Third Quarter

W – T.J. Fulton 55 pass from Neil Eichten (Tom Duetschmann kick), 4:13.

W – Tanner Bock 20 run (Tom Duetschmann kick), 1:13.

Fourth Quarter

M – Brady Madsen 1 run (kick failed), 2:00.


First Downs1118


Passing Yards98135

Total Yards201384





Time of Possession23:2624:34


RUSHING – MACCRAY (Dylan Abraham 9-47, Andrew Schultz 8-33, Nic Pieper 2-9, Brady Madsen 2-5, Dean Schroeder 1-3); Wabasso (Tanner Bock 33-166, T.J. Fulton 4-68, Caleb Kemp 5-17, Neil Eichten 1-minus 1, Mitch Fulton 3-minus 1).

PASSING – MACCRAY (Dylan Abraham 17-38-98-0-1); Wabasso (Neil Eichten 6-7-135-2-0).

RECEIVING – MACCRAY (Aaron Jaenisch 6-28, Connor Cronen 5-40, Dean Schroeder 3-19, Bailey Boike 2-11, Andrew Schultz 1-0); Wabasso (Caleb Salfer 2-38, Dirk Pistulka 2-31, T.J. Fulton 1-55, Tanner Bock 1-11).

TACKLES – MACCRAY (Dean Schroeder 8.5, Ethan Thein 8.0, Aaron Jaenisch 7.0, Connor Cornen 4.5, Brian Bratsch 4.5, Deven Benson 4.0, Nic Pieper 4.0, Bailey Boike 3.0, Dylan Abraham 1.5, Jacob Schemmel 1.5, Ian Anderson 0.5); Wabasso (Caleb Kemp 6.5, Caleb Salfer 5.0, Matt Zeug 5.0, Josh Altermatt 4.0, Tanner Bock 4.0, Beau Taylor 3.5, T.J. Fulton 3.0, Alex Schroepfer 3.0, Mitch Fulton 2.5, Justin Frank 1.0, Jonathan Nelson 1.0, Jason Swoboda 1.0, Jared Welch 1.0, Neil Eichten 0.5, Dirk Pistulka 0.5).

SACKS – MACCRAY (none); Wabasso (none).

INTERCEPTIONS – MACCRAY (none); Wabasso (Dirk Pistulka 1).

TMB 20, United South Central 14

WELLS – No other information was submitted before press time.