PREP WRESTLING: Tigers drop duals at JCC

JACKSON – The Marshall/Lakeview wrestling team battled hard but dropped two matches in a Southwest Conference triangular Thursday in Jackson.

Against the Trojans, the Tigers led 25-5 after a pin by Brent Breczinski at 138 pounds, but lost the remainder of the matches, including four by forfeit, to drop the contest 51-25.

Devyn Martzloff also earned a pin for Marshall/Lakeview, while Matt Facile won by major decision, Toby Semler by decision and Nick Erbes by forfeit.

“We had a lot of kids wrestle really well,” Tiger head coach Justin Bouwman said. “Toby Semler went out and beat Hser Eh Pwae from Worthington, and he’s the eighth-rated kid (in state) right now at 106 pounds. Toby wrestled really well. He’s doing good things for us and is looking really good.

“Devyn Martzloff went out and got a big pin for us. Matt Facile pulled out a nice, tight win. We were rolling in the bottom again, but then we got to the top and ran out of bodies.”

The Tigers fell 48-19 in the matchup with Jackson County Central. Wyatt Martin earned a pin for Marshall/Lakeview, while Ramzi Gregoire won by major decision. Semler, Erbes and Facile all won by decision.

“Jackson, they have people upon people,” Bouwman said. “We had some really good matches. We wrestled tough, even though the score doesn’t reflect it. Nick did really well. Toby won again. We had a lot of close matches.”

The Tigers (3-11 overall) are back in action on Saturday.

Jackson County Central 48, Marshall/Lakeview 19

106: Toby Semler (M/L) decision Jacob Tvinnereim, 7-1; 113: Dalton Wagner (JCC) pinned Jackson Hughes, 1:12; 120: Nick Erbes (M/L) decision Ryker VanderWoude, 9-7; 126: Jordan Biehn (JCC) pinned Devyn Martzloff, 2:21; 132: Matt Facile (M/L) decision 8-6; 138: Jared Bakalyar (JCC) pinned Brent Breczinski, 3:33; 145: Ramzi Gregoire (M/L) major decision Luke Pygman, 8-0; 152: Wyatt Martin (M/L) pinned Alec fischer, 0:27; 160: Double Open; 170: Luke Norland (JCC) pinned Jarrett Louwagie, 1:08; 182: Keegan Moore (JCC) pinned Brandon Appel, 0:52; 195: (Name not available) (JCC) won by forfeit; 220: (Name not available) (JCC) won by forfeit; 285: (Name not available) (JCC) won by forfeit.

Worthington 51, Marshall/Lakeview 25

106: Toby Semler (M/L) decision Hser Eh Pwae, 8-7; 113: Hser Moo Pwae (W) technical fall Jackson Hughes, 15-0; 120: Nick Erbes (M/L) won by forfeit; 126: Devyn Martzloff (M/L) pinned Eh Kyoo, 4:28; 132: Matt Facile (M/L) major decision Jeffrey Camacho, 10-1; 138: Brent Breczinski (M/L) pinned King Blanchette, 3:56; 145: Cody Michelson (W) defeated Ramzi Gregoire by disqualification; 152: Zach Bruns (W) pinned Wyatt Martin, 1:56; 160: Torey Rogers (W) won by forfeit; 170: Zach Kempema (W) major decision Jarrett Louwagie, 12-1; 182: Nic Putnam (W) pinned Brandon Appel, 1:33; 195: Carson Hagen (W) won by forfeit; 220: Peter Abraham (W) won by forfeit; 285: Trevor Wietzema (W) won by forfeit.

Minneota/Lincoln HI 70, TMB/WWG 6

TRACY – Minneota/Lincoln HI dominated the mat in a dual against Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove, earning a 70-6 victory Thursday in Tracy.

Earning pins for the Vikings were: Brock Buysse (106 pounds), Eric Hauswedell (113), Brendan Reiss (120), Bryce Bruner (138), Alec Engler (145), Kael Jacobson (152), Cole Hennen (160), Grant Abraham (170) and Alexander Hencke (195).

Minneota/LH’s Landyn VanOverbeke picked up a victory with a major decision against Caleb Christian, while Nathan Bueltel and Jordan Twedt won by forfeit.

Logan Axford (132) and Kenny Her (220) were victorious for the Panthers, winning both of their matches by decision.

Minneota/Lincoln HI 70, TMB/WWG 6

106: Brock Buysse (M/LH) pinned Daulton Carlson, 0:59. 113: Eric Hauswedell (M/LH) pinned Nash Mayer, 1:04. 120: Brendan Reiss (M/LH) pinned Tyler Illg, 1:12. 126: Landyn VanOverbeke (M/LH) major decision Caleb Christian, 10-2. 132: Logan Axford (TMB/WWG) decision Leo Buysse, 5-0. 138: Bryce Bruner (M/LH) pinned Kyle Gilbertson, 1:06. 145: Alec Engler (M/LH) pinned Cooper Olson, 1:53. 152: Kael Jacobson (M/LH) pinned Austin Bucholz, 0:48. 160: Cole Hennen (M/LH) pinned Sterling Schwartz, 1:59. 170: Grant Abraham (M/LH) pinned River Zvorak, 0:59. 182: Nathan Bueltel (M/LH) won by forfeit . 195: Alexander Hencke (M/LH) pinned Cole Olson, 1:15. 220: Kenny Her (TMB/WWG) decision Jameson Hettling, 8-3. 285: Jordan Twedt (M/LH) won by forfeit.

Canby 48, Dassel-Cokato 22

Canby 51, Pipestone Area 20

CANBY – Canby put together a solid wrestling performance and came away with a 48-22 victory against Dassell-Cokato and a 51-20 win over Pipestone Area in a triangular Thursday in Canby.

Konner King, Quentin Beiningen, Billy Deslauriers, Cole Regnier and Christian Full all picked up pins for the Lancers (9-4 overall) in the match against D-C. Payton Viessman and Michael Petersen won by decision, while Wyatt Johansen and Jared Lokken won by forfeit.

Against the Arrows, Nick Antony, Beiningen, Jack Citrowske, Regnier, Adam Evenson and Gavin Benz earned pins for Canby. Viessman, King and Petersen won their matches by decision, while Full won by forfeit.

Canby 48, Dassel-Cokato 22

106: Payton Viessman (C) decision Brody Schmidt, 7-0. 113: Wyatt Johansen (C) won by forfeit. 120: Konnor King (C) pinned Blake Braunworth, 3:55. 126: Tom Keskey (D-C) pinned Nick Antony, 1:04. 132: Quentin Beiningen (C) pinned Conner Peterson, 3:01. 138: Jared Lokken (C) won by forfeit. 145: Cameron Steffen (D-C) decision Jack Citrowske, 8-5. 152: Billy Deslauriers (C) pinned Clay Brost, 4:33. 160: Tom Halonen (D-C) won by injury default Travis Dinius. 170: Michael Petersen (C) decision Zach Brost, 7-5. 182: Mike Leffler (D-C) major decision Bryce Gorder, 9-0. 195: Cole Regnier (C) pinned Aaron Aho, 3:54. 220: Christian Full (C) pinned Jacob Brost, 2:34. 285: Logan Polzin (D-C) decision Gavin Benz, 2-0.

Canby 51, Pipestone Area 20

106: Payton Viessman (C) decision David Berger, 18-11. 113: Michael Suda (P) major decision Wyatt Johansen, 17-6. 120: Konnor King (C) decision Garrett Ploeger, 4-2, OT. 126: Nick Antony, (C) pinned Bill Olsen, 3:03. 132: Quentin Beiningen (C) pinned Jacoby Hunt, 3:46. 138: Jack Citrowske (C) pinned Jacob Haubrich, 3:36. 145: Walker Kor (P) major decision Billy Deslauriers, 11-1. 152: Brady Bos (P) pinned Luke Jelen, 2:26. 160: Allan Hachmann (P) pinned Kyler Jelen, 5:00. 170: Michael Petersen (C) decision Will Smith, 4-3. 182: Cole Regnier (C) pinned Jacob Geiderman, 1:08. 195: Christian Full (C) won by forfeit. 220: Adam Evenson (C) pinned Cole Staples, 1:16. 285: Gavin Benz (C) pinned Derik Evans, 4:52.