Lyon County Republicans meet, choose state delegates

MARSHALL – The Lyon County Republicans met on Saturday morning at the Marshall Area YMCA to select 11 delegates and 22 alternates to the state convention and adopt resolutions for consideration in the party platform. The state convention will be held at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester on May 30 and 31.

Speakers included District 16A Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Ghent, District 16 Sen. Gary Dahms, R-Redwood Falls, and District 12 Sen. Torrey Westrom, R-Elbow Lake, who is seeking the nomination to run against U.S. Rep. Collin Peterson for the 7th Congressional District seat.

“The concerns of this country and the direction of this country need to change,” Westrom said. “You can’t change the direction of this country without changing the players at the table.”

Westrom is to date the only announced candidate for the Republican nomination.

Swedzinski spoke about the effect savings in Minnesota have on the federal budget because of federal matching funds and criticized MNsure the state’s online health insurance marketplace.

“Enrollment is 70 percent below the lowest enrollment estimate,” Swedzinski said. “People are choosing not to get involved with the system. It has become a superagency with no oversight that runs over one-sixth of our economy.”

Dahms was one of several speakers who spoke in support of nominating area resident Marty Seifert for governor.

“Marty Seifert is the only individual running for governor who ever out-polled Governor Dayton,” Dahms said.

Among a list of resolutions proposed:

A proposal to raise the minimum wage to $9.50 per hour, failed.

The U.S. corporate income tax should be reduced, passed.

A resolution supporting the liberty of religious denominations to refuse to solemnize same-sex marriage, passed.

A resolution urging a ban on taxpayer-funded abortions, passed.

A resolution for instituting regulation and inspection of abortion facilities, passed.

A resolution stating any anti-bullying legislation should address the action of bullying rather than the class or status of the victim, passed.

A resolution opposing the Safe and Supportive MN Schools Act, passed.

A resolution to eliminate the post-secondary education option, failed on a split vote.

Other resolutions involved changing the wording in existing resolutions supporting mining in the state, capital punishment and opposing instant runoff voting.

A resolution was passed to name President Calvin Coolidge as an extraordinary leader.

The delegates elected to the Republican state convention: are Debbie Clark, Deanna Coudron, John Drown, Pat Foley, Layle French, Arlene Lesewski, Robert Meffert, Marty Seifert, Traci Seifert, David Sturrock, Chris Swedzinski and 22 alternates.

The delegates elected to the 7th Congressional District convention, to be held in Willmar March 29 are: Karl Baumann, Debbie Clark, Deanna Coudron, Layle French, Brad Hennen, Arlene Lesewski, Alex MacArthur, Mary Meffert, Dean Mitzner, Nathan Snell and Gwen Sturrock. In addition, 22 alternates were elected.