GIRLS BASKETBALL: NRHEG’s Carlie Wagner named AP Player of Year

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) – New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva guard Carlie Wagner has been picked as the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award winner for high school girls basketball.

The AP’s all-state team was announced Monday. Joining Wagner on the first team were Minneapolis Washburn’s Chase Coley, Bloomington Kennedy’s Kenisha Bell, Eastview’s Madison Guebert and Park Center’s Cayla McMorris. Guebert is the only junior; the others are seniors.

Wagner will play for the University of Minnesota next season. She set a state tournament record with 53 points for the Panthers in their quarterfinal game and led them to a 31-0 record and second straight Class 2A title.

Wagner finished her career with a state-record 3,957 points, including 371 in state tournaments, which is also the most in Minnesota girls history.

Minneota standout Taylor Reiss was picked for the third team.

The Minnesota Associated Press 2014 All-State team for girls high school basketball:


Carlie Wagner, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva


Carlie Wagner, senior, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva

Chase Coley, senior, Minneapolis Washburn

Kenisha Bell, senior, Bloomington Kennedy

Madison Guebert, junior, Eastview

Cayla McMorris, senior, Park Center


Tia Elbert, senior, Tartan

Bryanna Fernstrom, senior, Chisago Lakes

Sydney Lamberty, senior, Park of Cottage Grove

Madison Dean, senior, Jordan

Taylor Thunstedt, senior, New London-Spicer


Michaela Rasmussen, senior, Holy Family

Kylie Brown, senior, Simley

Hannah Grim, senior, Rosemount

Taylor Reiss, junior, Minneota

Bailey Strand, senior, Fergus Falls