PREP SPORTS: Several leagues announce all-conference teams

Five members of the Marshall Tigers girls basketball team were named All-Southwest Conference, fresh off their appearance in the Class 3A championship game Saturday.

Seniors Kenzie Beekman and Hannah Bennett and juniors Sarah Buysse and Callie Graff were all named to the all-conference team. Junior Morgan Saugstad was named all-conference honorable mention.

The Marshall Tigers finished the 2013-14 season with a 30-2 record, including 12-0 in Southwest Conference play.


A number of area athletes were named to the 2014 All-Camden Conference Girls Basketball team.

State runners-up Minneota had three players honored. Taylor Reiss was named MVP in the South Division. Senior Shelby Corbin and junior Emily Stienessen were also named to the team.

Viking head coach Chad Johnston was also named Coach of the Year in the South Division. Minneota finished the season 32-2, including 16-0 against the Camden Conference.

Also named to the team in the South Division were Ricki Kalhoff and Morgan Merritt both from Canby, Brianna Hoffman and Sadie Selter both from Lakeview, Heidi Pavek from Lincoln HI, Justine Possail and Kaylie Nielsen both from Russell-Tyler-Ruthton, and Sammie Gervais and Cassie Hook both from Tracy-Milroy-Balaton.

In the North Division, three Dawson-Boyd Blackjacks were named to the all-conference team. Justine Lee was named North Division MVP. Teammates Katarina Kuhlmann and Kelly Husby were also named all-conference.

Doug Wold of the Blackjacks was named North Division Coach of the Year. He led Dawson-Boyd to a 19-5 record, including 13-3 in Camden Conference contests.

Red Rock

Eight area athletes were named to the All-Red Rock Conference team for their performance throughout the 2013-14 girls basketball season.

Jade Giese and Morgan Behrends made the team, representing Murray County Central, while Elizabeth Woelber represents Westbrook-Walnut Grove on the team. Brooke Rasmussen and Melanie Kedl were also named to the team, representing Red Rock Central.

Rebekah Nysetvold from Murray County Central, Rachel Kedl from Red Rock Central and Dayna Comnick of Westbrook-Walnut Grove were all named All-Red Rock Conference honorable mention.

Dakota Valley

The Dakota Valley Conference announced its all-conference teams for the 2013-14 girls basketball season.

For Elkton/Lake Benton senior Gabby Kampmann was the sole representative. She was named second team all-conference.

Boys Basketball


Three Marshall Tigers were named All-Southwest Conference in boys basketball for the 2013-14 season.

Riley Sharbono and Carl Douglas received all-conference honors, while Connor Winkelman was named all-conference honorable mention.

Red Rock

The Red Rock Conference announced the 2013-14 all-conference teams in boys basketball, and five area athletes were recognized.

Grant Everson and Grant Rohrer of Murray County Central and Alex Knutson and Shane Buchman of Westbrook-Walnut Grove were named all-conference.

Thomas Blomgren of Red Rock Central was named All-Red Rock Conference honorable mention.

Boys Hockey

Four Marshall Tiger boys hockey players were honored by the Southwest Conference.

Brent Haukom, Mason Campion and Alex Buysse were selected to the all-conference team, and Andrew Bell was named all-conference honorable mention.