BOYS BASKETBALL: MBCA selects Hanson as top coach

Head coach Jon Hanson of the Canby Lancers was named Class A Coach of the Year by the Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association. He also was named the Class A Section 3 Coach of the Year, as well.

Hanson led the Lancers to a 25-5 record during the 2013-14 season, including 11-3 mark in Camden Conference action. Canby qualified for their first state tournament since 1951.

Travis Carroll of Marshall was named Coach of the Year in Class 3A Section 2. Carroll led the Tigers 24-5 record and a second consecutive state tournament berth.

The MBCA also named the Red Rock Central Falcons as the Class A Section 3 academic team champions.

Two area players were selected Academic All-State individuals, including Neil Eichten from Wabasso and Joey Lee from Dawson-Boyd.