Education briefs for April 2

Deragisch named to Greater Minnesota Education board

MREA, a statewide organization that advocates for students and school districts in Greater Minnesota, announced recently the election of new board members and officers for 2014.

Five new members joined the 20-member board this year. Representing categories within membership zones throughout Minnesota, directors are either elected by the membership or appointed to the board.

The new board members include Doug Deragisch, agency representative with Southwest/West Central Service Cooperative, Marshall, four-year term, Statewide South Zone.

Other directors continuing to serve include: Rhonda Bonnstetter, Slayton; Marvin Kleven, Walnut Grove; and Roger Rudebusch, Lake Benton.