Several area girls basketball players and coaches have been honored by the Minnesota Girls Basketball Coaches Association for the 2013-14 season.

In Class 3A, Marshall senior forward Kenzie Beekman was picked for the All-State team, while teammate Sarah Buysse, a junior guard, received All-State honorable mention. Tigers head coach Dan Westby was named Coach of the Year in Section 2. MHS assistant coach Steph Bot earned recognition as the Section 2 Assistant Coach of the Year.

In Class A, Minneota’s Taylor Reiss and Wabasso’s Chelsey Guetter landed on the All-State team. Canby’s Morgan Merritt and Dawson-Boyd’s Justine Lee were selected for All-State honorable mention. Rabbits head coach Neil Dolan was named the Coach of the Year in Section 3.

Academic All-State

Four area Class A teams – Red Rock Central, Wabasso, Murray County Central, Canby – gained recognition from the Minnesota State High School Coaches Association on the Academic All-State list. The Falcons had the highest Team GPA in Section 3 at 3.84, followed by the Rabbits (second at 3.83), the Rebels (fifth at 3.78) and the Lancers (sixth at 3.77). The other Section 3 teams on the list were Southwest Minnesota Christian (third at 3.827) and Adrian (fourth at 3.80).

Area Class A Section 3 teams had 18 players on Academic All-State list. They include Canby’s Brittany Merritt and Ricki Kallhoff; Lakeview’s Brianna Hoffman and Joci Dopp; Lincoln HI’s Morgan Citterman; Murray County Central’s Angela Dahlgren and Rebekah Nysetvold; Red Rock Central’s Melanie Kedl and Cassie Erickson; Russell-Tyler-Ruthton’s Shayna Possail, Justine Possail and Anna Madsen; and Wabasso’s Karlee Eichten, Mindy Goblirsch, Erin Liebl, Chelsey Guetter and Callie Rohlik.