Campus notes for April 30

Prorok wins NDSU food competition

North Dakota State University students recently participated in a cooking contest April 9 requiring ingenuity and secret ingredients.

The competing teams were provided four secret ingredients that were revealed just before the competition began – avocado, sliced almonds, eggs and pancake/biscuit mix. Other ingredients were provided but did not need to be used.

Teams were given 45 minutes to complete their dish, and they were judged on taste, presentation and creativity.

The Food Science/Food Safety Club team produced the winning dish, which was a breakfast plate.

The plate included banana almond pancakes topped with honey; a bacon, tomato and green pepper omelet; and a sweet avocado sauce. Members of the winning team included Alexander Prorok, a senior from Marshall.

Pickthorn inducted into PBK honors society

Sean Pickthorn from St. John’s University, Collegeville, was part of the 72-student group accepted into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University. The students were formally initiated at a ceremony April 23 at Pellegrene Auditorium, SJU.

Pickthorn is the son of Todd and Sherri Pickthorn of Cottonwood. He is a senior chemistry major at SJU.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society, founded in 1776. The society voted to create a chapter at CSB and SJU in 2009.

The criteria for being inducted into Phi Beta Kappa are grade point average (3.75 for juniors, 3.65 for seniors) and a liberal arts major. The selection committee also looked at breadth and depth of the student’s program and other achievements, such as a thesis or other research.

Minnesota West Community and Technical College hosts 2014 Honors Brunch

The Canby campus of Minnesota West hosted its annual Honors Brunch April 22, recognizing student campus leaders and scholarship recipients.

Scholarship recipients include the following Marshall students: Buxton Okebiro, Diesel Technology Scholarship, $500; Brady Mellenthin, Otter Tail Power Company Scholarship, $1,000; Brady Mellenthin, Duke Energy Scholarship, $500; and Whitney Meyer, Robert T. Olson, MD and Joan Olson Scholarship, $1,000.

MTGA announces Ranelius Scholarship recipients

The Minnesota Turkey Growers Association announced five 2014 Ranelius Scholarship awards for $1,000 each to worthy students at its annual meeting on March 19 in St.Paul.

This is a competitive award given to a current student(s) with an interest in poultry and agriculture. The recipients include:

Alaine Buysse of Ghent. She is a senior at Minneota High School and plans to major in animal science at South Dakota State University, with plans to continue on to vet school.