MHS celebrates its students at assembly

MARSHALL – Approximately 900 people were in attendance to recognize and celebrate the academic success of students at the 2014 Honors Assembly Wednesday morning at Marshall High School, highlighting bright futures for many of those students.

“We’re recognizing your commitment to your academic career,” MHS Principal Brian Jones said. “We hope everyone will give these students the respect they deserve.”

Rick Purrington, MHS social studies teacher and National Honor Society adviser for the Marshall chapter, gave the roll call for the 2013 NHS members.

“The NHS chapter members will receive a silver stole to wear at graduation,” Purrington said. “The NHS serves to recognize juniors and seniors who demonstrate excellence in academics and leadership. The program began in 1921 and now includes 1 million students from all 50 states. The organization not only recognizes student success but also challenges them in their academic career.”

Next, the 2014-15 members, who were recently inducted into NHS, were announced. NHS vice president Troy Timmerman read the names and said a few words about the organization.

“Being a member is a privilege and a responsibility,” Timmerman said.

After the top 10 students in each grade were given certificates and recognition, MHS Assistant Principal Travis Frazee pointed out the specifics of a new award given this year to an outstanding student in each department.

“The Student of the Year awards are based on positive attitude, cooperation, effort and achievement in the classroom,” Frazee said. “Names from each department will be engraved on a plaque.”

Jason Kaare was the first to name a recipient, Eli Welu, for Ag Student of the Year. Other staff representatives followed, naming Clay Oglesby (business education), Alatera McCann (art), Shine Naw (ELL), Jenna Miller (English), Hannah Bennett (Family and Consumer Science), Troy Timmerman (math), Ryan Schultz (music), Christina Hanson (physical education), Cassie Pieschke (science), Munira Osman (social studies) and Wade DeAustin (Spanish) as top students in their departments.

Senior honor students were then called up front to receive their graduation honor cords, with orange representing the highest honor.

Near the end of the academic celebration, two seniors were recognized as recipients for high-achieving scholarships. Drew Tykwinski was awarded a four-year, $180,000 Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) scholarship from Marine Corp representatives Sgt. David Packer and Capt. Nick Korent.

Timmerman was awarded a $20,000 Samsung scholarship through the American Legion Boys State program.