PREP BOYS AND GIRLS: Blackjacks, Vikes capture Camden championships

MARSHALL – The Camden Conference Boys and Girls Golf Championships were a mirror of the league’s regular season.

The Dawson-Boyd boys and the Minneota/Lincoln HI girls won overall Camden Conference titles after each squad captured the league’s tournament crowns – both by sizable margins – on Monday at Marshall Golf Club.

The Blackjacks were 26 shots better than the MACCRAY Wolverines 337-363 in the boys team standings. The Vikings, who captured their sixth Camden Conference title since 2006, defeated the Canby Lancers 383-438 – a margin of 55 shots in the girls team standings.

“I was super-proud of our boys today. This is a special group of golfers and a great group of kids,” Dawson-Boyd coach Dave Baldwin said. “We told them the conditions were going to be windy and cold and that bogeys would be a good score (Tuesday). We knew there would be a lot of high scores today.”

Led by medalist Easton Popma, who carded an 81, five Blackjacks finished among the top ten individual places. Dawson-Boyd’s Christian Thoen and Spencer Erickson both turned in 85s to end up in a third-place tie with Lac qui Parle Valley’s Riley Sigdahl. The Blackjacks also received an 86 from Cameron Kemen, who placed sixth, and a 91 from Dalton Palmer, who placed ninth.

“The greens were a little bit inconsistent (Tuesday), but they were nice compared to some of the courses we normally play,” Popma said. “The wind was a challenge, especially on Nos. 14, 15 and 16, where it was really whipping and you could not control your shots.”

Baldwin listed some reasons why the Blackjacks became Camden Conference champions in 2014.

“There are many factors that make this group special, but playing all summer long is one of them,” Baldwin said. “They play the Junior PGA tour. They practice a lot. They are all good friends. I think the secret to their success is that they all work at it.”

MACCRAY’s Dean Schroeder was the runner-up after recording an 82, which was one shot behind Popma. Other top 10 finishers included MACCRAY’s Brady Madsen (87, seventh), Lac qui Parle Valley’s Hunter Lind (89, eighth). Russell-Tyler-Ruthton’s Jeremy Alsaker and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton’s Devin Skalak tied for tenth after posting identical 92s.

Since 2006, five Camden Conference girls golf championships have been won by Minneota and three have been won by Lincoln HI. In 2014, the first year of the Minneota/Lincoln HI girls golf co-op, the Vikings’ combined program earned its first league crown.

The Vikings’ Heidi Guttormsson and Kyra Gores battled to become the medalist with Guttormsson edging Gores by one shot, 91 to 92. Three other Minneota/Lincoln HI players landed among the top ten individual places, including Allison Bot (98, fourth), Rachel Knutson (102, fifth) and Charlie Josephson (104, sixth).

“I’m starting to feel a lot more comfortable (at Marshall Golf Club), since I have played this course a few times,” said Guttormsson, a freshman. “This course is challenging because of the faster greens and this one has 18 holes. My home course (Countryside Golf Club in Minneota) only has nine holes.”

Minneota/Lincoln HI coach Ralph Hagen was excited about the effort from the Vikings.

“I’m so happy to have five golfers among the top six and, as a team, we shot a score that will be competitive at the section tournament,” Hagen said. “Allison knocked in an eagle and had a 98. Heidi had a 91 and Kyra had a 92. In windy and cold conditions, those scores in the 90s are excellent.”

The co-op has helped golfers from both schools improve on the course.

“We have Kyra and she is a really good golfer. The rest of us try to keep up with her,” Guttormsson said.

Other top 10 placers were Lakeview’s Whitney Fischer (95, third), Canby’s Natalie Morris (106, tie for seventh), Hendricks’ Courtni Frank (106, tie for seventh), Tracy-Milroy-Balaton’s Morgan Anderson (108, ninth) and Canby’s Jenna Huber (109, tenth).


At Marshall Golf Club


TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Dawson-Boyd 337, 2. MACCRAY 363, 3. Lac qui Parle Valley 372, 4. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 391, 5. Lakeview 398, 6. Minneota/Lincoln HI 416, 7. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 428, 8. Canby 433. NOTE: Hendricks did not have a complete team.

INDIVIDUAL STANDINGS: 1. Easton Popma (D-B) 81; 2. Dean Schroeder (MA) 82; 3. (tie) Christian Thoen (D-B), Spencer Erickson (D-B) and Riley Sigdahl (LQPV) 85; 6. Cameron Kemen (D-B) 86; 7. Brady Madsen (MA) 87; 8. Hunter Lind (LQPV) 89; 9. Dalton Palmer (D-B) 91; 10. (tie) Jeremy Alsaker (RTR) and Devin Skalak (TMB) 92.

DAWSON-BOYD: Easton Popma 81, Christian Thoen 85, Spencer Erickson 85, Cameron Kemen 86, Dalton Palmer 91, Jared Monson 111.

MACCRAY: Dean Schroeder 82, Brady Madsen 87, Charles Rothwell 93, Andrew Gosseling 101, Nathaniel Johnson 106, Isaac Gosseling 112.

LAC QUI PARLE VALLEY: Riley Sigdahl 85, Hunter Lind 89, Jaden Kallhoff 95, Matt Bornhorst 103, Joe Arnold 106, Jamison Werner DQ.

RUSSELL-TYLER-RUTHTON: Jeremy Alsaker 92, Hunter Burns 99, Nathan VanDrunen 100, Derrick Whiting 100, Christian Johnson 104, Jacob Peterson 115.

LAKEVIEW: Zach Werner 96, Jake Werner 98, Taylor Pickthorn 101, Josh Stevens 103, Hunter Kvistad 104, Jarret Geihl 108.

MINNEOTA/LINCOLN HI: Jeff Gladis 97, Leo Buysse 100, Ryan Twedt 107, Jon Piehl 112, Troy Skaar 118, Joe Buysse 123.

TRACY-MILROY-BALATON: Devin Skalak 92, Joe Felt 102, Elijah Koenig 115, Caleb Snell 119, Jared Vroman 121.

CANBY: Dylan Smith 101, Landon Anderson 102, Matt Slaba 114, Nolan Fink 116, Jack Citrowske 118, Austin Polejewski 127.

HENDRICKS: Devin Ward 120, Max Schumacher 139.


TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Minneota/Lincoln HI 383, 2. Canby 438, 3. Lakeview 462, 4. Dawson-Boyd 475, 5. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 482, 6. Lac qui Parle Valley 489. NOTE: Hendricks and MACCRAY did not have complete teams.

INDIVIDUAL STANDINGS: 1. Heidi Guttormsson (M/LHI) 91, 2. Kyra Gores (M/LHI) 92, 3. Whitney Fischer (L) 95, 4. Allison Bot (M/LHI) 98, 5. Rachel Knutson (M/LHI) 102, 6. Charlie Josephson (M/LHI) 104, 7. (tie) Natalie Morris (C) and Courtni Frank (H) 106, 9. Morgan Anderson (TMB) 108, 10. Jenna Huber (C) 109.

MINNEOTA/LINCOLN HI: Heidi Guttormsson 91, Kyra Gores 92, Allison Bot 98, Rachel Knutson 102, Charlie Josephson 104, Maranda Jerzak 110.

CANBY: Natalie Morris 106, Jenna Huber 109, Abi Morris 110, Mallary Fink 113, Gabby Nemitz 121, Haily Citrowske 126.

LAKEVIEW: Whitney Fischer 95, Sydney Schake 112, Mikenna Radke 122, Hailey Penske 133.

DAWSON-BOYD: Tracy Polzine 116, Taylor Loose 116, Raeann Tuff 119, Katheryn Madson 124, Alisa Fenske 130.

TRACY-MILROY-BALATON: Morgan Anderson 108, Morgan Benson 113, Annika Anderson 126, Megan Schmitt 135, Kennidy VanGelderen 136, Emily Crumrine 142.

LAC QUI PARLE VALLEY: Ali Dahle 112, Abby Stender 117, Shannon Busse 125, Taylor Dahl 135, Callie Ludvigson 140.

HENDRICKS: Courtni Frank 106, Heather Digre 150, Desiree Scotting 163.

MACCRAY: Tiffany Mogard 120, Lauren Wubben 122, Isabelle Plagge 141.