Several staff members resign from RTR School District

The Russell-Tyler-Ruthton School District is experiencing some turnover amongst faculty and staff this year. At its May meeting, the RTR School Board accepted the resignation of several teachers and staff members, RTR Superintendent Bruce Houck said Thursday.

Houck said he could not provide the Independent with a list of the faculty and staff members who resigned, as they were no longer district employees and releasing the information would require their permission. However, Wednesday’s Tyler Tribute reported that the school board accepted the resignations of high school teachers Sharon Jensen, Christine Steinbach and Darin Dahle, elementary teachers Leah Hoyt and Emily Balfany, instrumental music instructor Dave Roxin, elementary secretary Stacy Felt and RTR High School principal Justin Hinks. The Tribute also reported that part-time elementary principal Jason Swenson would not be continuing in that position.

Houck said the number of resignations this summer was unusual for RTR. However, he said some of the resignations included employees who were retiring, while others were due to accepting positions at other school districts or moving to be with family members or spouses. He said most of the vacated positions have already been filled, with only two teaching positions and a principal position still vacant.

Houck said the employees who resigned completed exit surveys. The surveys will be discussed by the school board at its next meeting, he said.