PREP BOYS AND GIRLS GOLF:Minneota/Lincoln HI captures titles

REDWOOD FALLS – The Minneota/Lincoln HI boys and girls golf teams won team championships at the Class A Section 3 North Division Tournament championships on Thursday at Redwood Falls Golf Club.

For the Viking boys, their accomplished was unexpected. Minneota/Lincoln HI, which compiled 380 shots to tie Russell-Tyler-Ruthton, won subsection title on a fifth-man score tiebreaker. Ryan Twedt’s 103 was to strokes lower than Christian Johnson’s 105.

At the Camden Conference Championships on May 14 at Marshall Golf Club, the Knights used a 391 to place fourth, while the Vikings were 25 shots back in sixth place with a 416. On Thursday, both teams stepped up their games.

“You have to know how to play each hole, individually,” Minneota/Lincoln HI head coach Ralph Hagen said. “There are some holes that you have to land the ball short of the green and chip it on. The penalty for being wrong in your decisions is astronomical.”

Hagen said the young Vikings gained experience Thursday.

“Time-after-time, you have to believe you can win,” Hagen said. “(Thursday), I told them to never give up and never give in.”

Jeff Gladis, who tied the Knights’ Hunter Burns as the overall runners-up, posted an 88 to lead the Vikings. Gladis was followed by Leo Buysse (96), Jon Piehl (96), Troy Skaar (100), Twedt (103) and Kolin Drietz (106).

Burns (88) turned in the low score for the Knights, while teammates Jeremy Alsaker (93), Nathan Vandrunen (96), Derrick Whiting (103), Johnson (105) and Jacob Peterson (107) also made contributions.

“The challenges of the course were to keep the ball in play and I think we used the driver a little too much,” Knights head coach Darren Dahle said. “You really don’t need a driver here because there are tight holes and it can get you in trouble.”

Devin Skalak of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton was the subsection medalist after shooting an 86.

“The greens were really tricky on some of the holes, especially on the 18th green, where a missed a short putt,” Skalak said. “I played pretty consistently without any birdies and quite a few pars.”

Skalak was the leader of seven individual section qualifiers. The others were Zach Werner of Lakeview (91), Joey Felt of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton (95), Carter Engen of Red Rock Central (98), Taylor Pickthorn of Lakeview (100), Josh Stevens of Lakeview (100) and Chase Haase of Wabasso (102).

For the Viking girls, they were the clear favorites to win the subsection title. Either Minneota or Lincoln HI have advanced from Section 3 to every Class A state tournament since 2011. With a co-op program this season, both schools have the chance to make a state run together.

With 376 shots, the Vikings finished 69 strokes ahead of runner-up Lakeview, which turned in a team total of 445.

Kyra Gores of Minneota/Lincoln HI was the overall medalist after recording an 85.

“The greens were very challenging because they were fast and nothing stuck on them,” said Gores, who tied for 13th overall at the 2013 Class A state tournament. “The only birdie I had is the one that came on No. 16.”

Gores set a pace that her teammates followed as three more Vikings – Allison Bot (93), Heidi Guttormsson (97), Charlie Josephson (101) – ended up as the top five individuals. Whitney Fischer of Lakeview also shot a 97 to tie Guttormsson for third overall.

All six Minneota/Lincoln HI players finished within the top 15 individuals. Megan Evers posted a 108 to place ninth, while Maranda Jerzak cemented a 113 to end up 14th.

“Kyra brings a mental toughness to the course that the rest of her teammates look for,” Hagen said. “We have some very good golfers who are starting to come together because this team is now Minneota/Lincoln HI and they have gelled together.”

Fischer and teammate Sydney Schalke (tenth, 109) were the only Lakers among the top 15. Other Lakeview scorers included Briatta Buntjer (16th, 117), Hailey Penske (18th, 122) and Mikenna Radke (19th, 124).

Players from four different schools claimed five individual section spots. Those golfers were Courtni Frank, a Hendricks eighth-grader, (sixth, 102); Annika Anderson of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton (seventh, 105); Jenna Henrickson of Wabasso (eighth, 106); Brooke Maasch of Wabasso (11th, 109) and Hannah of Red Rock Central (12th, 112).

Sell advanced after winning a two-hole playoff against Morgan Anderson of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton. When Sell and Anderson remained tied when they completed their first extra hole on No. 1, the tie was broken on No. 9.




TEAM STANDINGS: 1. (tie) Minneota/Lincoln HI and Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 380, 3. Lakeview 396, 4. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 397, 5. Wabasso 413, 6. Red Rock Central 421.

INDIVIDUAL STANDINGS: 1. Devin Skalak (TMB) 86, 2. (tie) Jeff Gladis (ML) and Hunter Burns (RTR) 88, 4. Zach Werner (L) 91, 5. Jeremy Alsaker (RTR) 93, 6. Joey Felt (TMB) 95, 7. (tie) Leo Buysse (ML), Jon Piehl (ML) and Nathan VanDrunen (RTR) 96, 10. Carter Engen (RRC) 98

HENDRICKS: Kolbe Frank 109, Tyson Frank 121.

LAKEVIEW: Zach Werner 91, Taylor Pickthorn 100, Josh Stevens 100, Hunter Kvistad 105, Jarrett Geihl 105, Logan Stelter 111.

MINNEOTA/LINCOLN HI: Jeff Gladis 88, Leo Buysse 96, Jon Piehl 96, Troy Skaar 100, Ryan Twedt 103, Kolin Drietz 106.

RED ROCK CENTRAL: Carter Engen 98, Max Miller 103, Zach Kircher 109, Cole Baumann 111, Jaden Prechel 119, Mark Busswitz 1250.

RUSSELL-TYLER-RUTHTON: Hunter Burns 88, Jeremy Alsaker 93, Nathan VanDrunen 96, Derrick Whiting 103, Christian Johnson 105, Jacob Peterson 107.

TRACY-MILROY-BALATON: Devin Skalak 86, Joey Felt 95, Myer VanEssen 107, Jared Vroman 109, Elijah Koenig 111, Caleb Snell 119.

WABASSO: Chase Haase 102, Shawn Zollner 103, Talon Irlbeck 103, Garrett Sagedahl 105, Connor Huhnerkoch 113, Isaac Hertling 114.


TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Minneota/Lincoln HI 376, 2. Lakeview 445, 3. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 455, 4. Wabasso 464, Red Rock Central 514.

INDIVIDUAL STANDINGS: 1. Kyra Gores (ML) 85, 2. Allison Bot (ML) 93, 3. (tie) Whitney Fischer (L) and Heidi Guttormsson (ML) 97, 5. Charlie Josephson (ML) 101, 6. Courtni Frank (H) 102, 7. Annika Anderson (TMB) 105, 8. Jenna Henriksen (W) 106, 9. Megan Evers (ML) 108, 10. (tie) Sydney Schake (L) and Brooke Maasch (W) 109

HENDRICKS: Courtni Frank 102.

LAKEVIEW: Whitney Fischer 97, Sydney Schake 109, Britta Buntjer 117, Hailey Penske 122, Mikenna Radke 124.

MINNEOTA/LINCOLN HI: Kyra Gores 85, Alison Bot 93, Heidi Guttormsson 97, Charlie Josephson 101, Megan Evers 108, Maranda Jerzak 113.

RED ROCK CENTRAL: Hannah Sell 112, Maria Johnson 128, Carley Baumann 131, Courtney Teveldal 143, Nautica Weis 143.

RUSSELL-TYLER-RUTHTON: Grace Ekema 127, Sarah Stanek 129.

TRACY-MILROY-BALATON: Annika Anderson 105, Morgan Anderson 112, Morgan Benson 114, Emily Crumrine 124, Kennidy VanGelderen 140.

WABASSO: Jenna Henriksen 106, Brooke Maasch 109, Gabby Welch 121, Anna Rohland 128, Lena Riekemann 136, Skylar Maasch 139.