Campus notes for May 28

Marshall students receive diplomas from LATI

The 47th annual Lake Area Technical Institute graduation ceremony was May 9, with 673 graduates receiving their diplomas.

The following Marshall students were presented their diplomas by Deb Shephard, president of Lake Area Tech: Devan Schultz, automotive technology; Taylor Kurth, building trades technology; Mitchell LaVoy, diesel technology; Dillan Sando, heavy equipment operator.

Citrowske member of U of M Crookston NACTA team

For the second year in a row, the University of Minnesota-Crookston team competing at the annual North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture brought home the sweepstakes in the four-year college division.

In addition to individuals, the teams in horticulture, dairy, livestock management, ag mechanics, and ag computers finished in first place.

Members of the teams competing at NACTA included Cedric Citrowske, a junior majoring in agricultural systems management and agricultural business from Canby. He competed in Meats; Quiz Bowl.

The judging conference took place April 10-12 at Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, Mo.

Students began preparing for the contests in November and are allowed to compete only one time per contest with the exception of soils which allows a student to compete twice. The contests are hands-on and the judging contests, like those in crops, dairy and livestock, require the student to both rank and provide reasons for their decisions. The NACTA team raises its own funding in order to participate in the competition.

Skewes receives degree from Dallas Baptist

Lori Skewes of Marshall graduated with a bachelor of business studies in business management from Dallas Baptist University during spring commencement. Skewes was among the 620 graduates receiving associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from DBU.

During her time at DBU, Skewes was a member of the Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society, Delta Mu Delta and was honored with the Professional Studies Honor Award.