Local 2014 filings

MARSHALL – A pair of Lyon County elected offices will be contested in the 2014 elections. As of Tuesday afternoon when the filing period closed, Lyon County residents had declared their intent to run for county commissioner and sheriff, said Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer E.J. Moberg.

Lyon County Commissioner Mark Goodenow is not running for re-election in his district, but two new candidates have filed. Marshall residents Paul Graupmann and Jim Thomasson will be in the running for the District 3 County Commissioner seat. Thomasson is currently the county highway superintendent. In May, he had announced his retirement effective later this month.

Lyon County Commissioner Steve Ritter, of Marshall, is running unopposed for re-election in County Commissioner District 2.

The Lyon County Sheriff election will also be contested this year. Sheriff Mark Mather will be running against Marshall resident Bruce Hanson. Hanson ran unsuccessfully against Mather in 2010.

Lyon County Attorney Rick Maes will also be running for re-election this year. There are no candidates running against Maes.

A total of three candidates filed to run for county soil and water supervisor positions. Allen Deutz will be running unopposed in Supervisor District 2. Gary Lavoy and Jeff Monsrud will be running for soil and water supervisor in District 4.

Moberg said candidates filing for office do have a window of time in which they may withdraw candidacy. Otherwise, they will be on the ballot in November.

A Lyon County resident has also filed to run against Minnesota state Rep. Joe Schomacker in District 22A. On Tuesday, Diana Slyter of Florence filed as a DFL candidate for Minnesota House. Schomacker, R-Luverne, is running for re-election.

District 22A includes four counties in the southwest corner of Minnesota, as well as part of Nobles County and southern Lyon County.

– Deb Gau