SMSU wrestling signs 14

MARSHALL – Southwest Minnesota State University head wrestling coach Jesse Nelson announced today the signing of 14 student-athletes for the 2014-15 season. Cortez Arredondo, Zach Beaumaster, Jordan Biehn, Dylan Boettcher, Quinn Bullard, Tristan Ezell, Brody Goens, Cody Heitman, Nick Kastenbauer, Patrick Kelley, Anthony Luft, Griffin Osing, Cody Peters and Hunter St. John have all signed letters of intent to continue their academic and athletic careers at SMSU.

The 14 student-athletes bring SMSU’s 2014-15 recruiting class to 19 as today’s signees join Lucas Damm from Atwater Justin Haneke from Beresford, S.D., Kurtis Loftis from Kuna, Idaho, Kyle Nixon from Luther, Mich., and Landyn VanOverbeke from Minneota, who committed during the early signing period last November.

“This year we wanted to get out and bring in a big class with some of the best student-athletes in the country, and I think we’ve accomplished that,” Nelson said. “We are proud to welcome 19 new Mustangs from nine different states. This group is composed of some very talented and accomplished individuals both in the classroom and on the mat and we look for them to add great depth to our roster as well as make an immediate impact on our lineup. This recruiting class is a great step towards the continuous improvement of SMSU Mustang wrestling.”

Southwest Minnesota State, located in Marshall, is a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and competes in NCAA Division II. SMSU finished the 2013-14 dual season with a record of 12-5 and had four NCAA national qualifiers.

2014-15 SMSU Signees

Name, Weight, Hometown / High School / Previous School

Cortez Arredondo, 133-141, West St. Paul. / Simley HS

Zach Beaumaster, 149, Big Lake / Monticello HS

Jordan Biehn, 125-133, Jackson / Jackson County Central HS

Dylan Boettcher, 141, St. Clair / St. Clair HS

Quinn Bullard, 285, Pontiac, Ill. / Pontiac Township HS / College of DuPage

Tristan Ezell, 197, Buckeye, Ariz. / Desert Vista HS

Brody Goens, 184, Chino Hills, Calif. / Chino Hills HS / Mt. San Antonio College

Cody Heitman, 149-157, Zumbrota / Zumbrota-Mazeppa HS

Nick Kastenbauer, 157, Mora / Mora HS

Patrick Kelley, 157-165, Omaha, Neb. / Burke HS

Anthony Luft, 125-133, Worthington / Worthington HS

Griffin Osing, 165, Blakesburg, Iowa / Albia HS

Cody Peters, 133, Kerkhoven / Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg HS

Hunter St. John, 149, Williamsburg, Iowa / Williamsburg HS / North Iowa C.C.

Signed in November 2013

Lucas Dammn, 285, Atwater / Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City HS

Justin Haneke, 133, Beresford, S.D. / Beresford HS

Kurtis Loftis, 141-149, Kuna, Idaho / Kuna HS

Kyle Nixon, 149-157, Luther, Mich. / Pine River HS

Landyn VanOverbeke, 133-141, Minneota / Minneota