Campus notes for June 11

Pickthorn participates in commencement ceremony at SJU

Sean Pickthorn, son of Todd and Sherri Pickthorn of Cottonwood, participated in the commencement ceremony at Saint John’s University on May 18 in the St. John’s Abbey and University Church, Collegeville. Pickthorn received a bachelor of arts degree in chemistry, with the honor cum laude. Cum laude indicates a cumulative grade point average of 3.65.

Campion awarded scholarship from Dordt College

Mason Campion of Marshall has been awarded the Honors scholarship from Dordt College as an incoming student. Dordt College is located in Sioux Center, Iowa.

Local students named to MSU Moorhead’s dean’s list

The following students have been named to the Minnesota State University Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of academic achievement spring semester 2014. Students must maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average and carry 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Boyd: Peter Lonnquist, composition; Ashley Schmitt, business administration.

Canby: Kora Cleveland, social work.

Clarkfield: Beth Anderson, psychology, criminal justice.

Dawson: Megan Stratmoen, elementary inclusive education.

Ghent: Jacob Moe, computer science, mathematics.

Hendricks: Erika Mathison, art.

Marshall: Wendy Lee, art; Katy Mitlyng, music education; Laura Mitlyng, elementary inclusive education; Ruweyda Mohamed, biology; Anna Schiavo, social work; Shawn Tykwinski, accounting; Stacey Tykwinski, elementary inclusive education; Nathan Walker, physics, political science; Larry Yang, anthropology.

Minneota: Ashley Gislason, psychology.

Porter: Wyatt Kraus, finance.

Ruthton: Katie Madsen, speech/language/hearing science.