SMSU briefs for July 16

Larsen admitted

Morgan Larsen, the daughter of Anthony and Laurie Larsen of Marshall, has been accepted for the 2014 fall semester at Southwest Minnesota State University.

Her planned major field of study is early childhood education.

SMSU grad elected new NEA-Student Program chairwoman

The National Education Association Student Program has elected a new leader, Chelsey Herrig of Jackson, at its annual leadership conference, which takes place just prior to the NEA’s yearly Representative Assembly.

During her two-year term as chairwoman, Herrig will work full time out of the NEA headquarters in Washington, D.C., and work with members of the NEA-Student Program to provide visibility on campuses and organize future educators. Herrig will lead the 60,000 student members, which represent 1,100 college and university chapters in 50 states.

A graduate of Southwest Minnesota State University, Herrig majored in elementary education, with an emphasis in math, and minored in special education. She will be a prominent face of NEA’s Degrees Not Debt campaign, which works to make student debt more visible and to make college more affordable for all who choose to attend.