Eight added to Hall of Honor

MARSHALL, Minn. Southwest Minnesota State University Athletics has announced that seven individuals and one team have been selected for induction into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor on Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015. The Athletics Hall of Honor is the highest athletic distinction awarded by the University.

The newest Athletics Hall of Honor members are former football and baseball player Joe Dittrich (1977-81); men’s basketball player Jacob Fahl (1999-2003); baseball player Chad Hess (1994-97); golfer Laura (Lundbohm) Hulsebus (2000-04); football player Nate Rudolph (1996-99); football and baseball player Gary Schleper (1982-87); community member and supporter of SMSU athletics Brian Brandt; and the 2000-01 women’s basketball team.

Complete bios and photos of the inductees will be released later this fall. The start time for the Hall of Honor banquet, along with ticket prices will also be announced this fall.

A 10-member committee chose the inductees from a group of nominations. The new inductees bring the membership in SMSU’s Athletic Hall of Honor to 85 individuals/couples and 12 teams. The Athletics Hall of Honor is displayed in the lobby of the R/A Facility. To view the Athletics Hall of Honor, go to SMSUmustangs.com/hallofhonor.